A vacation from my problems!

Bill and meYou never know who you’re gonna run into at the Brooklyn Flea Market … Bill Murray! One of my favourite movies he played in is – WHAT ABOUT BOB. We watched it again while in New York, hence, my title “A vacation from my problems” a line from the movie.

He’s funny on screen, and in real life he’s a funny and friendly, down-to-earth guy and he even shook my hand!

Bill is making a movie and stopped by the flea market to buy a rug. I took my sunglasses off so you’d see it’s really me shaking his hand. This is as close as I’ve ever been to an actor.

I enjoyed meandering around the flea market and gazing across the East River at the spectacular view of Manhattan, something you don’t find at every flea market.

Brooklyn Flea MarketEast RiverJeanElma makes exquisite jewelry and Jean bought a beautiful sterling silver pendant.

ElmaWe walked over to a charming vegan restaurant FOOD SWINGS to meet up with New York blogger Jesse.

Food Swings vegan restaurant

Jesse, Jean, carmenJean and Jesse After relaxing at Food Swings and enjoying a delicious and nutritious lunch, we headed over to Vaute Couture, a designer, vegan clothing shop. Jesse bought a darling dress and Jean bought a lovely top. I bought a couple of pendants.

VauteMy tank top and matching cardigan is from Jones New York which I bought before my trip.

What is your favourite Bill Murray movie?

ILoveNY

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, New York City, Travel, Vegan restaurant, Vegetarian/Vegan Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A vacation from my problems!

  1. Yep, same place! And I used to love Foodswings (they had the BEST vegan Mac& cheese and milkshakes) but it closed a couple years ago 😦

    Bettye

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emy Will says:

    What an amazing trip B-|
    Your photos say it all. My favourite Bill Murray film is Groundhog Day – funny with a good message.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 1950s Lucite Purses | jeanofalltrades

  4. jesse.anne.o says:

    I’m glad to see the Billy Murray picture online – too funny! It was so nice to meet you and get to spend time with you guys in Williamburg!

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Hi Jesse! I really enjoyed meeting you and our fun time together!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It will be great to stay in touch with blogging!

      I ❤ NY
      carmen

      Like

  5. Pingback: Central Park NYC | fashionable over 50

  6. nofearoffashion says:

    Bill Murray is a lovely guy. I liked him a lot in that movie where he has to go through the same day over and over again.
    You look lovely and I am so glad you are wearing capri trousers. I like them a lot but I thought they were outdated. Your bag is also very nice and fun with that big safety pin. This is the kind of size I am after for a long time. Well this size and being very light please. Is it light? And still for sale?
    Greetje

    Like

    • carmen says:

      That was a funny movie–Groundhog Day–I want to watch it again!!

      Capris are (in my opinion) flattering and timeless, as well as cooler than long trousers on hot summer days. I think they are as timeless as jeans and shorts!! My mom wore them in the 50s and continued to wear them. I never wear shorts to go shopping; I prefer skirts, dresses and capris in warm weather. I think it’s important to wear them with the right shoes–sandals or ballet flats look nice. I never wear them with jogging shoes or any shoes that look frumpy.

      You’re VERY observant; that large safety pin is an authentic laundry pin from a laundromat in New York City. I bought it at the Brooklyn Flea Market and immediately attached it to my tote. Being fabric, it’s not too heavy and can be worn on my shoulder. It is made in Ontario and comes in a variety of colours with choices of appliques. Mine has two ladybugs on the flip-side. Check this out …

      Color Your World

      I will try to find out their website and send it to you.

      Thanks for your visit!
      I’ll be seeing you!
      ❤ carmen

      Like

  7. Bob says:

    I envy your vegan meals….I think that up here, you would have to be self sufficient or starve.
    I enjoyed the blog….when shaking hands with Bill, you look animated…about to jump into the camera.

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Yes, Bob, the meals were to die for!! We have several vegan and vegetarian restaurants in the KW, Cambridge and Guelph areas. Being on holidays, it was great eating out every day at a different vegan restaurant. I don’t get to eat out that often in a whole year at home!

      Bill took me by surprise when he grabbed my hand. He made me feel like I was the celebrity! He was very flattering!!

      I ❤ NY
      carmen

      Like

  8. Great write-up! I still can’t believe we saw Bill Murray! I really enjoyed Brooklyn and eating at Food Swings with Jesse. My Vaute Couture top is cute too and I just ordered a winter coat from them yesterday.

    Like

  9. Suzanne says:

    That is so fun that you ran into Bill Murray. That flea market looks great. We went to one on 174th and Broadway (didn’t spot any stars though). Seems like you did some of the things we did this time too since we went to Chelsea and the High Line.

    For all the times we’ve been in NY we have seen and shopped beside Nicole Kidman and Naomi Watts (in Agent Provocateur) , seen the designers from Trading Spaces, and ate beside some of the members of U2 at the Spotted Pig. It’s a great place for mixing with the stars.

    Like

  10. josep-maria says:

    What a surprise to find Bill Murray in the street, I guess in New York is possible, of course. Why did you spent in the markets, with so many beautiful things. I love your shirt, it has a beautiful color combination. The Canadian most fashionable in New York …

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you, Josep-Maria!

      Yes, only in New York!! It is a fun and safe city. I loved walking through Manhattan: from Harlem, through Central Park, to Times Square, Chelsea and Greenwich Village, and along the High Line (a railway converted to a fabulous walkway) which I’ll be writing about and sharing pictures.

      Thanks for following my NYC tour!! More to come!!
      I ❤ NY
      carmen

      Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️