Black Watch Tartan Vest and Black Velvet Jeans

You don’t have to be Scottish wear Black Watch, it’s my favourite tartan and can be worn by anyone. The history of this popular tartan is interesting to know.

While shopping at JCPenney in Flagstaff, Arizona, I bought this quilted tatan vest and black velvet jeans. I was looking for black jeans, and velvet makes it even better!

They’ve been my go-to jeans this winter and into spring. Besides the fact that Spring takes her sweet time to arrive (actually, I think it’s Winter that keeps fighting with her) Spring in Ontario means one day pleasant and the next miserable.

Case in point, we enjoyed a taste of Spring in April and then BOOM! a furious wind and rain storm arrived two weeks ago and tossed one of our porch chairs into a beautiful large pot, knocking it over and smashing it into pieces!

Back to my outfit: I like that it’s casual and so comfortable, yet classy to wear for a luncheon with friends. The vest is perfect for layering with a coat to keep extra warm during cold winter days and just the thing in spring when I might not need a jacket but a vest will do the job.

A beret and booties always make me feel chic. My beret is thrifted and my booties are faux suede. Black long sleeve top is from Northern Reflections.

Do you wear vests?

Weather update: today started out cool and raining, and now the sun is shining and it feels like SPRING!

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Shopping, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Black Watch Tartan Vest and Black Velvet Jeans

  1. utesmile says:

    The vest looks great on you. I don’t really wear them as I am cold on my arms then, I do prefer a proper jacket. I do like your outfit however.

    We finally have a bit warmer now and I hope you can go out in Short sleeves now too. enjoy the sun the warmth, I know how you are longing for.

    Much love from Ute xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodie says:

    I just adore all vests of all shapes and sizes and this one is fabulous Carmen.

    What a shame about the pot. That wind can be crazy,
    OXOX
    Jodie

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      I have a nice collection of vests now and this one is my favourite! Doug is actually trying to fix the pot, it’s a work in progress and I’ll post it when it’s finished.

      ❤️carmen

      Like

  3. josep-maria says:

    I love this vest, the print is very pretty and very yours. Beautiful all black combined with the vest and perfect that French touch that you give to your looks when you wear a beret. You are always wonderful, in any weather season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you kindly! Your comments make me smile every time and you know how much I like my berets!

      I wore this vest to see the total eclipse on April 8th. There will be a total eclipse in Spain on August 12, 2026.

      ❤️carmen

      Like

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️