Why can’t you wear white after Labour Day?

gray polks dot caprisThere’s a fashion rule that says we can’t wear white after Labour Day. I’ve never been one to follow rules when I have a different opinion. September is still summer and there are some pleasant sunny days. Besides, I even wear white in the winter if I want to. I bought these gray polka dot capris recently at Macy’s in NYC. In fact I liked them so much that I went back and bought another pair in pink with tiny white polka dots! I figure if they still sell (and wear) capris in NYC–they must be in style. They look feminine and summer-fresh! Capris are (in my opinion) flattering and timeless, as well as cooler than long pants and jeans on hot summer days. Capris are great for us mature women who don’t wear shorts when we go shopping! Capris and 3/4 length pants are a casual look: a happy medium (pun intended) when shorts are too short and trousers are too hot.

gray polks dot capris 2This is my favourite designer shirt from Italy by Elisa Cavaletti. I love the ruffles on the sleeves, fancy stitching down the front and interesting mismatched buttons. The pearl gray tank top is from Hollister and has a ruffled hem. Love those ruffles!!

Elisa Cavaletti

I wore this outfit for my JIVE video. You can find more dances on my dance page.

gray polks dot capris 3While touring NYC on foot, my sandal strap broke, but fortunately, we were only a couple of blocks away from OLD NAVY and I found these pewter ballet slippers on sale for $10. They are so comfortable, and even walking for miles and miles with new shoes, I did not get a blister!

capris and Labour Day

carmen

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Dance, Fashion, New York City and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why can’t you wear white after Labour Day?

  1. nofearoffashion says:

    Thank you for this capri support. Love yours. I would have gone back to buy another pair as well. Indeed a very pretty blouse and top. Perfect combination.
    Fortunately the “rule” not to wear white after Labour Day has not reached The Netherlands yet haha. Would not follow it either. What nonsense.

    Like

  2. Toni Pons says:

    You look fantastic, the capris really suit you. Rules are there to be broken!

    Best wishes, Kate

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you, Kate!

      Glad you agree. I break a lot of fashion rules, but I try not to break traffic rules. 😉 (Although, I confess, I’ve had one speeding ticket in my life! 😦

      Thanks for dropping by!
      ❤ carmen

      Like

  3. Suzanne says:

    I cannot wear capris. They make me look short(er). These look lovely on you though. You look long and lean.

    Also I totally agree about the white whenever you want. I think lots of those rules are dated and don’t apply anymore.

    I am always jealous of people that can buy a pair of flats and walk for miles in them without blisters. Ballet flats and my feet don’t get along. I love the colour of the shoes.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you, Suzanne!

      I’m not actually long (would be nice to be taller) but I am lean – lol – size 4, so I’m on the slim side.

      I’ve always been comfortable wearing ballet flats, but I know they’re not for everyone. My surprise was that these ones were new and I usually have to break-in new shoes.

      Fashion is fun!
      ❤ carmen

      Like

  4. josepmbadia says:

    I love your look, Carmen. You’re the queen of capri, nobody dresses like you, with your style and elegance. These are beautiful, I love the polka dots. The shirt is a real cute, with those ruffles on the sleeves, it’s beautiful. The top is very nice, soft and delicate. A lovely outfit, of extreme delicacy and elegance. You are really attractive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      I’m blushing!! Thank you Josep-Maria for the wonderful compliment!!

      I am a fan of Audrey Hepburn. She wore casual clothes with style: I remember her capri pants and flat ballet shoes. Being a dance instructor, capris are very practical and cool in the summertime, but fashion is important to me, that’s why even if the activity calls for casual–I want to look stylish.

      If I had a job where I could wear dresses and suits, it would be fun to dress up every day. However, I love my job and I have so much fun dancing that it doesn’t seem like work! I get paid for doing something I enjoy, stay fit, have fun and meet some terrific people!

      Queen of Capri!! 😉
      besos, carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Maggie Li says:

    I love my capris pants too, I bought 5 pairs of different colors one while I was in Hong Kong , the store carry 12 colors , well I can’t buy them all. You are so right about us mature women won’t wear short and trousers are too hot for summer . Love you style !

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you, Maggie!!

      What a good idea to stock up on capris, having them in 5 different colours will mean you have lots of mixing possibilities.

      You are a very stylish lady!!
      Fashion is fun!
      ❤ carmen

      Like

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

