Black and Gray Colorblock Dress

My birthday snuck up on me rather quickly this year. What to wear today?

I looked in my wardrobe and decided to wear this colorblock dress that I bought in Gold Canyon, Arizona on our December holiday. If you read my last post, you’ll see what I wrote, that I didn’t buy anything in Las Vegas.

That’s true.

However, I did buy several things in Arizona, after all, I like to help the economy. And when you find an Anne Klein dress on sale for $20 (normally $120) how can you pass by and leave it on the rack?

I got this hat at a thrift shop several years ago and it just happens to go with the dress. Heart earrings are new from Arizona and I’ve had the heart necklace for a long time.

We enjoyed going to church this morning with our youngest son and in the afternoon a little stroll on Princes Street in our town. There are lovely, century-old Victorian houses. This heart-shaped purse was a gift from my daughter Jean in 2012.

No snow in February here in Southern Ontario is unusual and I was able to take my coat off for the photoshoot.

A little pattern mixing with this eternity heart scarf from my scarf collection adds warmth as well as style. I seem to be obsessed with scarves like some women collect shoes. How about you?

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Fashion, Shopping, Thirfting, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Black and Gray Colorblock Dress

  1. Happy birthday girl. You look so beautiful, wish you all the best

    Liked by 1 person

  2. a little late for my birthday greetings—it’s mid-March! A $120 dress for $20-30 dollars? That’s the kind of sale my Mother, now departed, would have loved! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Akolzol.com says:

    I ‏admire your ability to cover diverse topics with depth and clarity.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. utesmile says:

    Happy Birthday dear Carmen. I do love scarves as well, and nearly always wear them. Now being February we can look forward to Spring. Isn’t that great, I already see some daffodils coming. It is still cold here and we have the wood burner on in the evenings. Cosy and warm. Your dress looks nice and cosy too. I do love your necklace with it.
    Have a wonderful not cold day dear Carmen , sending you much love! ♥♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you very much!! My dress is indeed cozy and comfy, like a long jumper. The days are getting a few minutes longer every day, however, winter tends to hang around longer than I’d like and more snow is inevitable. It’s like winter and spring have tug-of-war every year, but thankfully, spring will win, even though we won’t see daffodils till April or May.

      Warm blessings!
      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  5. roberteberhardt80a9110e7b says:

    Happy Valentine’s day.

    😊 Bob

    PS I am still dancing! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nancy Dynes says:

    Happy birthday! You look beautiful and stylish as always! I’m a February birthday too. Our family actually has 5 February birthdays. I haven’t Been online much lately, but when I am, I love to visit your blog. I wish you all good things in the coming year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      So happy to hear from you! Thank you very much for your visit! So nice to share birthdays in February!❤️

      I must say, blogging has taken a back seat for a while with only 7 posts in 6 months. I do enjoy it though and always appreciate my blogging friends staying in touch with encouraging words for each other.

      Not everyone knows because I haven’t mentioned it in my blog that I have a concussion after a bad fall last fall. Still recovering and I’ve been advised not to be on the computer, so I limit my time. On top of that, I had another tumble in December hiking up a rocky mountain path while on holidays in Arizona. Thankfully, I did not hit my head. It was literally a miracle and I don’t use the word lightly.

      What’s new with you? How are you doing?

      Blessings!
      ❤️carmen

      Like

      • Nancy Dynes says:

        Oh my goodness, Carmen!! The number one thing you can do is take care of yourself. I know the frustration of having activity limited, but it’s paramount you listen to your doctors. A concussion is nothing to play around with! I was actually in a terrible car crash on the interstate in December when a large truck crossed two lanes and crashed into the side of us, totaling our Denali XL (which is pretty large on its own). I’m still recovering from sprained neck, back, broken ribs, injured spleen, and other various deep bruising and internal bleeding. I did too much, too soon at Christmas when the family was here, and did I ever pay a price for it! Don’t be me. Put yourself first and eventually you’ll be able to do the things you love again. I’ll be here praying for you.

        Liked by 2 people

        • carmen says:

          My dear Nancy, I thank God for a miracle that you survived!!! What a terrible ordeal you suffered and I pray for your complete healing! 🙏

          My brother was killed in a car accident when he was only 18. The link is below.

          I sincerely appreciate you stopping by and will try to take your advice to take care of myself. My husband told me to slow down on the hike but I didn’t listen. My mom used to say, “Who doesn’t listen must pay the consequences.” I have finally learned my lesson.

          The year there was no Christmas

          Like

  7. josep-maria says:

    I love your dress, it has a beautiful print. The beret and the French chic toche that it gives to the look seem very cute to me. The scarf and the heart pendant are very Carmen, very yours, I like them a lot. I hope you had a great day yesterday. I think your email is not working properly…

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Always such kind words which make me smile! It has been 12 years since we connected through blogging and share a love for fashion and many other things in common, even our birthdays in February! ❤️

      I am having trouble with email and hope it will be fixed soon. 🙂

      Feliç aniversari el meu estimat amic!!

      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  8. muktaverma says:

    nice dress , love the quote .

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy Birthday! I love that dress. What a deal too. Color-blocking is so elegant, especially in monochrome. You look fantastic! No one would guess that you’re 72.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much! This is my first color-blocked dress and reminded me of some of the dresses you have that are color-blocked.

      I have you to thank for my vegan life-style (as well as fashion style). Plus, I stay out of the sun during peek hours (10 – 4) prefering to sit in the shade, and wear a sunhat and sunglasses. 😎 And dancing keeps me fit! 💃❤️

      Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️