Fringes with a ’60s Vibe

1960s – this is my favourite decade for fashion. I lived it.

Fringes are groovy!

fringed vestThey say if you wore a fashion trend the first time around, you shouldn’t wear it when it comes in style again. I don’t know who “they” are but I would tell “them” that I wear what makes me happy. Especially when the style reminds me of the ’60s as this outfit does.

fringed vest 2

I had a fringed vest that I bought in 1968 but this one is even better because it’s faux suede. I bought it in Berlin last summer.

black fringed vest

Looks great with my new fringed top from Hudson’s Bay.

Version 2

Pendant from New York City. Ring from Seattle.

Version 3

A carpet of Forget-me-nots is a sure sign of spring in April.

forget-me-nots

Booties from Target

booties

DSC05696 DSC05688 Version 2I bought this jacket in Stuttgart, Germany, perfect for fall and spring.

jacket jacket 2

Do you agree or disagree with the fashion rule if you wore a trend the first time around you shouldn’t wear it the second time around?

 

On sale now! Click the pic!

fringed top

Linkup: Visible Monday

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Memories, Nature, Photography, Scenery, Shopping, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Fringes with a ’60s Vibe

  1. lamodsmodelling says:

    Really enjoyed this blog!

    I wrote a blog about how to rock 90’s trends today!
    Check it out!
    https://wordpress.com/post/lamodsmodelling.wordpress.com/15

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna Parkes says:

    I don’t agree with that idea either. I too had a fringed waistcoat like this – mine was brown suede and it was 1970 when I bought it with money I had earned after school. I was 12 years old and felt incredibly grown up wearing that to my first junior disco – ah those were the days! You look lovely in this black version and I love your top too. So nice to meet you x
    Anna
    http://www.annasislandstyle.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Hello dear Anna! Thank you for sharing some happy memories of your fringed waistcoat!
      I have a camel colour version in today’s post.Thanks so much for stopping by and taking time to comment!

      A pleasure to meet you!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  3. Fringe is forever, baby!!
    You look great! Phooey on “them”!!
    You remember a vest you bought in 1968?? Wow! I can’t remember many outfits from my youth. Well, I do remember in 8th grade I had sorta a mini dress, white, with a black choker. With platform shoes! I was twice as tall as any boy in the school, but hey! I looked cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ralph says:

    Groovy baby ! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t agree with that old rule. I say wear whatever makes you happy!

    I am a big fan of fringe and I love this vest. It fits you perfectly.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Angie says:

    I don’t sweat over sayings like this, i’m not a teenager! The fringed waistcoat is a classic boho look and never out of fashion. You look very beautiful and full of energy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. josep-maria says:

    My dear Carmen, you’re a girl of the sixties, but now you look more beautiful. Fashion 60 is inspiring, it was fun and represented an age of openness and happiness. But now it’s better, why is our time too. We have more experience and have polished our style to our liking. I like the vest, but I like even more the shirt, it’s beautiful. So is the jacket, and the lovely way of putting flowers in your post, mixing fashion and beauty with the beauty of flowers. Nice look, nice post, but as always, the most beautiful is yourself …

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you very much my dear Josep-Maria! I value your fashion opinions. Both our mothers had a lot to do with our interest in fashion. You have a keen eye for style and select lovely ladies with style and grace on your blog – mature women who continue to look their best. Women are like flowers in a garden; each one with their own beauty.

      I sincerely appreciate your support. Have a happy week!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Olga says:

    I think if one wore a trend first time around and loved it why not to wear it and enjoy once again the second time? Love your fringed vest! I have kind of similar, also from faux suede but mine is in green colour. Beautiful jacket and jewelry too!

    Like

  9. Hmm, hot pants springs to mind! LOL! 😆 Love your outfit, though. I’m starting to see more fringed items in the stores.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sandypatti says:

    Love the fringe (forget about the “rule”!), the jacket, and the lovely flowers. Thanks so much for linking up, xo

    -Patti
    http://notdeadyetstyle.com

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ivanev says:

    I love that jacket from Germany, it looks elegant and beautiful on you !!

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much dear Ivan! It was on sale and I bought it on the last day and the last one in the store. My cousin’s daughter found it and tried it on but it was to small for her, otherwise she would have bought it.

      Happy Spring!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  12. utesmile says:

    That looks great. I just received a free gift from my french catalog as I ordered a jacket, and it was a handbag, well sixties look. with faux leather fringe on it. My children laughed, I quite like it. Well that’s us! I can see Spring is coming slowly to you too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you dear Ute! Oh, I would love a handbag with faux leather fringes. I had one in the ’60s. Hope you will show us your new handbag. Fringes are fun and my next post is another outfit with fringes. Fringes were popular during the Roaring Twenties, as you have on your Charleston dress. Those dresses being more elegant. When fringes came back in the ’60s it was a relaxed, groovy style!

      Happy Spring!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 2 people

  13. mihrank says:

    wow – the color, smile looks tres chique and elegant!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Maccabros says:

    Es kommt alles wieder und schaut doch sehr gut aus…♥…

    liebe Grüße

    Maccabros

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Vielen Dank, mein lieber Maccabros! Meine Mutter sagte zu mir Kleidung zu halten, wenn die aus der Mode sind, weil sie wieder zurück in Stil kommen wird. 🙂

      Viele liebe Grüße!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Sanjana❤ says:

    You look so young & trendy

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️