Magnificent Magnolias

This weekend I happened to notice a magnificent magnolia tree not far from where we live, still in beautiful bloom.

I was wearing one of my favourite floral tops which I’ve shown recently, but this time with black pants and red booties. The pants are faux leather and faux suede and were a gift from one of my dance students.

I like changing up outfits to create a different look and getting more milage out of my clothes. While I don’t have a capsule wardrobe, I do think the 30 wears challenge is a great idea. I’ve already worn this top at least 10 times this spring. Pretty enough to go out of the house and comfortable enough to wear at home. Have you joined the challenge?

Have a bloomin’ lovely week!

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Nature, Photography, Scenery, Spring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Magnificent Magnolias

  1. Jidapapoo says:

    Wow so beautiful

    Liked by 2 people

  2. NOTHING OR NO ONE AS BEAUIFUL UNDER OUR TREE!!!! 😀 ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. utesmile says:

    How beautiful, you and the Magnolia. I think my jumper which is from my mum qualifies in this 30 wear challenge. It is such a lovely warm jumper and it is still so cold here. So I love it at home and outside, and it makes it more special as it is my mum’s. Funny enough though I don’t remember my mum ever wearing it. It does get a lot of wear now though and I know she would be very happy! Enjoy the Spring Carmen! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much! How special that you are enjoying your mom’s jumper (perhaps more than she wore it), perfect for the 30 day challenge and I think you’ll be wearing it more than 30 times! 🙂 It makes me happy to wear things that belonged to my mom, so I imagine you feel the same. It’s still quite cool here too. Happy Mother’s Day!

      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jane says:

    Beautiful! Both you and the tree. The shoes and the top go so well together!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. moragnoffke says:

    30 wears challenge is a good idea 💐💞

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      I think so too! I hope more and more people will realize how damaging fast fashion is to our environment and more importantly, the horrible and often dangerous working conditions of garment workers. No one should suffer for fashion.

      Doing good, feels good! ❤️
      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  6. josep-maria says:

    Magnolias are gorgeous and they make a wonderful background for your outfit. The floral print of the blouse is also beautiful and today, with the black pants and the red ankle boots it is very well combined. Every day you look more beautiful in the photos, time goes by and your beauty does not stop increasing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a great find Carmen discovering the magnolia tree still in bloom! What a great backdrop to show your pretty outfit with. The faux leather pants looks great with the floral top ! The challenge sounds so fun! Have a lovely day, Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks so much! We have lived in this area since 1979 (in three differnt houses) and only discovered this amazing magnolia tree now. I will go back for another photoshoot before the blossoms disappear. The goal of the 30 wears challenge is for us to not buy fast fashion (cheap clothes) and rather buy quality clothes that last and we wear often (at least 30 times) instead of ending up in landfills. Have a wonderful evening!

      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  8. So beautiful and refreshing post… 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nancy Dynes says:

    You look amazing, Carmen! The way you’ve styled your floral top with the faux suede/leather pants reflects both elegance and comfort. I have a back issue so comfort in my clothing is more important to me than ever, and you’ve demonstrated that it can be achieved with refinement. Often since the pandemic and lockdowns I just wear my ‘relaxation togs’ around the house, then find I need to quickly change if I have to go out. It wastes time and makes extra laundry. I am going to follow your example and put together a couple of go-to outfits that can do double duty at home and out and about. Do you remember when we were talking about how every woman needs a red bag last week? I would like to add that every woman needs a pair of red booties! They bring out the flowers and add a touch of pizazz that can’t be achieved with basic black. And I see nature has provided you with a stunning background again! It makes my heart sing to see the magnolias still at the height of their glory. Sending wishes for a blessed and beautiful week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Nancy! Comfort is key, and we live in a time when we can have both: comfort and style! 🙂 My top is softer and as comfortable as a T-shirt. The pants have an elastic waist and feel as comfortable as joggers. As you said, double duty, I like that! Something we can wear at home and still go out feeling fine.

      I have found that a simple T and pants can quickly be dressed up with a blazer and accessories (like a scarf and colourful purse) and you’re off to an errand or whatever looking good.

      I totally agree with you — every woman needs a pair of red shoes! In my case, all my shoes would be red, but they don’t always come in red. You’ve inspired me to put together a post with my red shoes and boots (I do have a lot).

      Here are one of my favourites from my daughter’s eco-boutique …

      Favourite sandals which my husband dyed for me …

      Do you have a red pair of shoes or booties? You might want to put them on your list. Remember, every woman needs a pair of RUBY SLIPPERS!! 🙂

      ❤️carmen

      Like

      • Nancy Dynes says:

        I love every one of those outfits! They’re all very classic and so chic. Your husband dyed your sandals for you? That’s amazing. I would’ve never thought of that. How did he do that, and what color were they to start out? I’m going on the hunt for red sandals and boots. I have NONE in red, though I do have boots in burgundy.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Jodie says:

    I just love the blooms like that. That’s something we don’t get as much here in AZ.
    And those red boots are fabulous!!
    XOOX
    Jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️