Last Christmas

During the holidays, I’m enjoying reminiscing about Christmases past. This first photo is from last Christmas with my new Christmas shoes.

Christmas 1965, the last Christmas our family of four (Mom, dad, brother and myself) celebrated together. Little did we know it was to be the last Christmas we would ever be together again. My parents separated and my brother had a fatal car accident in 1968.

The last Christmas our family was together: mom, Johnny and me (my dad took the photo)

Christmas through the years …

My beautiful friend Maggie shared these photos of happy Christmas memories …

Christmas is a season of JOY!

but for many it is a time of loss and pain.

May God comfort those who mourn and suffer.

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Christmas, Fashion, Memories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Last Christmas

  1. Jane Rosebery says:

    The pictures are lovely and the story of your family tucked at my heartstrings. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. josep-maria says:

    How beautiful it is to see your evolution through the Christmas photos, your memories, your beautiful dresses, your beautiful smile that never disappears … You look wonderful in all the photos with that red color so yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so very much! I’m glad you like my dresses; red is my favourite Christmas colour. I hope you have had opportunities to visit with your dear grandchildren during this Christmas season.

      God bless you with hope for a good future! 🌟
      ❤️carmen

      Like

  3. Hello Carmen, we all reminisce about Christmases past, you have many wonderful memories stored here. Love the 2019 Christmas shoes. My heart goes out to you, thinking of that last Christmas you spent as a full family , and soon after that your brothers life was cut short. What love there is in the pic with your Granddaughter on your lap, and look at that amazing updo! Great dress with the polka dot peeptoes! I really like the hi-lo effect in the black and red dress as you attend to the tree. I love the sweater dress with the boots and tights styling. Maggie and you always look so good dressed up together. Sending comfort to all who mourn and are lonely at this time of year. Thanks for sharing , take care , Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Your kind words mean a lot to me! This family photo evokes such strong emotions, that makes my heart smile! Although I miss Johnny, I am thankful I had him in my life for even a short time. My faith in God gives me assurance of eternal life and comforts me.

      It is a time of reflection as another year comes to an end. I count my blessings and there are more blessings than there are days in the year! It’s friends like you that God brings into our lives to encourage us along the rough road and for that I am truly grateful!

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments! The polka dot shoes (I like to call them my Mini Mouse shoes) are a gift from a dear friend who passed away two years ago. She was my age. I wear them with fond memories of our friendship.

      God bless you and keep you safe!
      ❤️carmen

      Like

  4. purpleslob says:

    So wonderful to have that last memory together with your parents, and Johnny!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maggie Li says:

    A wonderful post of Christmas , sorry to hear of some sad feelings of yours . Thanks for adding me to your Christmas memories , we sure sharing quite a few wonderful moments together , hope many more to come .

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      You will always be part of my wonderful Christmas memories!! It was so sweet of you to share these photos and the one you framed so festively for Christmas! Looking forward to more good times together in 2021 and beyond! Thank you so much for being such a good friend! 🙂

      Lots of love and hugs!
      ❤️carmen

      Like

  6. utesmile says:

    Such lovely pictures down memory lane. Red and black certainly the Christmas colours which look just wonderful. Christmas blessings to you and your family, enjoy the festive season! ♥ Ute ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Up to a good 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️