Roses in Spanish Harlem

We’re in New York City!

red roses

I wore this dress on the plane. It made me feel like I was back in the 1960s, a time ladies looked like they were on their way to a special event when traveling. Indeed, flying is a very special event for me! It never ceases to thrill me as the jet engines start up and we take to the sky where the world looks a lot smaller and somehow more peaceful.

red roses 2

This is the first of my outfits in NYC: black with white polka dots and big, bold red roses. I wore it to have dinner with friends at the Harlem Tavern.

red roses 3

The Brownstone buildings in Manhattan are charming and a fantastic backdrop for photos. This one is a replica built to look like the original ones. It’s a newer building but very much in keeping with the character of the old architecture.

red roses 4red roses 5red roses 7

A stroll around Harlem in my dress of red roses reminded me of Cliff Richard singing this song and I can imagine dancing a rumba.

First thing on my list of where to go next?

Central Park!

iloveny1

Β Linkups: VISIBLE MONDAYΒ TURNING HEADS TUESDAY

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Fashion, New York City, Photography, Summer, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Roses in Spanish Harlem

  1. Forget the backgroud, forget the dress, forget the shoes, forget the bag !!!!! BUT THESE GLOVES !!!!!! OMG Carmen – what an outfit, what an idea !!! You can be sure I’m going to adopt it on my blog ;))))) . I’ve always liked glamourous stylings like this one and adding gloves is really all you need to achieve it. A fantastic idea – love it. :))))))) Best wishes – Margot :))))

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Ha ha ha!!! πŸ˜€ I’m so glad you like my little black gloves Margot! You’re quite right, they add a glamorous touch. Dainty little gloves were part of my elegant mother’s outfits. I remember her wearing them anytime she wore a dress. She truly inspired me. I also have a pair of white ones and a pair of long black gloves. It’s surprising how gloves make me feel like a lady! πŸ™‚

      My dear mother was born in August, here with her little white gloves.
      Me in my red velvet dress.

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  2. utesmile says:

    That dress is so lovely, I would wear it straight away too. Suits you perfectly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dan says:

    Oh, Carmen…I love your dress and how it fits you!! The print is precious … you are a so perfectly stylish lady…
    Visiting NYC is at the top of my wishlist. Maybe one day…you can never know!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Dan! I love the print too and the style. The dress and this romantic song make me feel like dancing a rumba! I hope your wish comes true to visit NYC someday, in that case, you must come one stop further west to visit me (near Toronto). πŸ™‚

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  4. Hi Carmen. Just discovered you through Patti’s Visible Monday linkup. Had to come over to say how much I love this dress. Anything vintage inspired is great in my book, especially polka dots and roses. Can’t go wrong there. And love how you’re wearing the wrist length gloves like a true stylish 60s lady would! Yes, back when people actually got dressed up to fly on a plane. Those were the days πŸ™‚

    Theresa
    http://www.vintagestylefiles.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • carmen says:

      A pleasure to meet you too Theresa! My mom used to wear little white gloves and bought me a matching pair when I was a little girl that I wore to church on Sundays (happy memories). They’re so fun to wear and make me feel like I’m playing dress-ups (more happy memories!).

      Thanks so much for stopping by!
      ❀ carmen

      Like

  5. josep-maria says:

    Oh my gosh, Carmen, that cute dress! And you look wonderful you with it! I love the stamping and vintage design so beautiful, that makes you a wonderful lady, a wonderful movie diva of the best years of Hollywood. Precious the play of colors, white, black, red … Precious the simple design of the dress, with your arms to the air and the flight and volume of the bottom. Beautiful gloves, a detail so sophisticated and beautiful. Precious the bag and accessories in red … Precious the song … But, as always, the most important are you, you are the most beautiful post and the photo without sunglasses is, simply … the authentic Queen of beauty and elegance.

    Liked by 2 people

    • carmen says:

      Thank you very much Josep-Maria, always generous with your kind words! I love wearing this dress, it makes me feel special and reminds me of Hollywood classics: times when movies were worth watching with happy endings and romantic songs and beautiful dancing.

      ❀ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  6. finbarsgift says:

    You and NYC, what a pleasant duet ⚘⚘⚘

    Liked by 1 person

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

