It’s a Jungle in there

This is January in Ontario, Canada …

waterfall

I’m wearing my white cotton sundress made in Peru.

white sundress from Peru

I bought it in September at the Wellesley Applebutter Festival.

waterfall 1

I’m at the Butterfly Conservatory, in Cambridge, Ontario–a great escape from a cold, blustery day!

waterfall 2

The handkerchief style cut looks lovely for dancing.

sundress

I didn’t think I’d have a chance to wear it till next summer, but the weather is warm and wonderful in the jungle at the Butterfly Conservatory.

bench 1

Next best thing to flying south.

bench 2

A warm oasis to get away from the frigid air and just breathe this sweet jungle air.

bench 3

I wore my butterfly necklace.

butterfly necklace

And changed into my metallic sandals…

purse and sandals

This is Thelma the walking stick.

walking stickwalking stick

The butterfly you see on my dress is not photoshopped, it was flying and looks almost transparent. Watching the myriad of butterflies is fascinating! They feel so delicate when they rest on my hand.

 

I got a season’s pass and have been here three times already; I’ll be getting away whenever I get a chance!

Have you ever been to a butterfly conservatory?

butterfly

pink heart

 

 

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Day Trips, Fashion, jewellery, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to It’s a Jungle in there

  1. THAT MODEL–YOU!–IS THE PRETTIEST BUTTERFLY INSIDE! Pretty dress—and Thelma, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mihrank says:

    cela est si beau et élégant

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ileana says:

    Yes, I have visited this butterfly conservatory, very close to Kitchener, with my granddaughters last August and also another one in Santa Cruz California two weeks ago. Those wonderful butterflies flying around you could lift your spirit and make you really happy especially during the depressing Canadian winter! 😀
    You look gorgeous in that white dress, my dear Carmen. Love it!
    Do we start dance classes with you in February? I’m looking forward to seeing you then.
    ❤️ Ileana

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheryl says:

    Love the dress- It is an awesome find and perfect for a warm day (either in the Conservatory or outside next summer).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Inese Poga Art plus Life says:

    You look so beautiful and it’s nice to get away from the winter. Unfortunately, we cannot. I haven’t had any vacations for some 4 years or so.
    I hope you have a great time there!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Olga says:

    You look simply gorgeous! What a beautiful dress worn for such a beautiful place! I visited a Butterfly Garden in Thailand once, and enjoyed my visit very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. bernard25 says:

    Bonjour très très jolie

    Tiens,tiens
    Mais que fais-je par ici
    Me serais-je perdu
    Mais non ça y est je me rappelle
    Je venais te dire bonsoir
    Te souhaiter une belle journée
    Après une petite halte chez toi
    Je vais continuer mon trajet
    Je te fais une bise d’amitié
    Bernard

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bob says:

    Reading and viewing your blog is a pleasing activity on a cold blustery evening in January. Oh to be a walking stick or a butterfly in your presence……hahaha…..

    So many tourist attractions in our own community…..we are blessed.
    We have been to The Butterfly Conservatory on the Niagara Parkway years ago.

    Your white sundress suits you superbly. You are an attractive butterfly catcher. 😀
    It is fitting that delicate butterflies be attracted to your delicate hand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much dear Bob! I’m glad that you enjoy reading my blog on a cold January evening. I hope these warm images in the butterfly jungle remind you of summer days that will come again!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  9. Maccabros says:

    Fine place, wonderful dress and you´re looking amazing my dear…

    Walking stick… 🙂

    Ganz liebe Grüße

    Maccabros

    Liked by 1 person

  10. josep-maria says:

    A beautiful dress, you are very pretty with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. simplygailg says:

    Gorgeous dress! That butterfly looks painted on. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I adore that place. Especially in the middle of winter : )

    I must make a point to go there again.

    You look stunning in this white dress.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  13. How gorgeous to catch a butterfly in flight!!
    And I was wondering how u were wearing a sundress in January!
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ralph says:

    Lovely dress Carmen. I know that it’s hot in the butterfly enclosure, but I bet it was cold outside. You are very brave to wear this dress !
    Ute (see her Like above) and I visited a similar butterfly centre in Benalmadena Pueblo, on the Costa del Sol, Spain (next to the white Tibetan Stupa) a couple of years ago. It was great !
    Keep warm my friend 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you dear Ralph! How lovely that you and Ute were at a butterfly centre when she travelled to Spain! It’s so cold outside that my car won’t start! Brrrr! Be glad you don’t have to shovel snow!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  15. utesmile says:

    Wow such a warm day with a dress like that. Wonderful January, we have it quite cold… got the heating on and the warmest jumper. My self knitted one! I love butterflies too they are so beautful .

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Ha ha!! It’s a warm day today NOT … so cold I am hibernating,
      The wind is howling outside my window. I’ll go back to see the butterflies next chance.

      Butterfly kisses!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️