OOTD – second-hand dress by Bala

This was my outfit of the day when I got my hair done last week, second-hand dress from my friend Maggie’s clothing exchange. It’s made in Canada and I can wear it in cooler weather as a tunic with a top and tights.

I’m also wearing a dickie from NORTHERN REFLECTIONS for added warmth. It’s still chilly and windy most days, but as soon as temperatures rise, I’ll lose the top and tights and it will be a fun, little summer dress to wear on the beach with sandals.

Clothes that take me through the seasons are my favourite because they transition all year around and I can get more wear out of them.

Do you wear second-hand clothes?

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Thirfting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to OOTD – second-hand dress by Bala

  1. josep-maria says:

    A wonderful dress, with all the elegance you inherited from your mother. I love this look. You look really beautiful in the foreground

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Carmen ! The dress does work good as a tunic and the tights are nice to wear with it this time of year. The dickie looks nice with the dress but it will be nice to leave in your closet for summer! Transitioning clothes is so smart ! I will look closer at my wardrobe to see how best to do it going forward . I do wear second hand clothes! It is a joy for me to go through the racks in thrift stores and find that garment or garments that i immediately fall in love with ! A lot of the items in my pics are thrifted . Have a nice weekend Carmen , Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Terri! It’s amazing to see how may things in our wardrobe can be worn through the seasons by simply layering with cardingans, blazers, and wearing tights and boots, It can change the whole outfit and give it a different look.

      I’m glad we think alike regarding thrift shopping and wearing pre-loved clothes.

      Enjoy the weekend!
      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  3. utesmile says:

    I love the dress, absolutely wonderful. specially with that beautiful background of the painted house wall. Love it! Even a Teddy in the window 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Ahh, you noticed the teddy in the window! I thought you would! It’s such a beautiful mural. There are no windows on that side of the building which creates the illusion that there are windows. 🙂

      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jodie says:

    We love our preloved clothes. Whether they are given between friends or purchased secondhand, it’s such a great way to save money and help the environment.
    What a gorgeous dress Carmen,
    XOXO
    Jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks s much Jodie! Preloved is wonderful for a few reasons and I’m so glad you are a believer and promoter! 🙂 With the money saved, we can buy quality clothes and support small businesses.

      ❤️carmen

      Like

  5. Maccabros says:

    Nice and pretty as ever my dear friend…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jess says:

    Hi Carmen!
    Yes, I shop secondhand frequently. Usually Poshmark, although I was invited to a neat thrifting warehouse experience recently. I love the pattern and the style is adorable on you. Your haircut looks great, I just got mine done last week and it feels good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Oh that sounds delightful, something I would have enjoyed too! Thank you so much for your kind words Jess! I only got two inches trimmed but it feels bouncier – only problem is, I can never quite style it the same myself. Your hair always looks fantastic!

      ❤️carmen

      Like

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️