Florals and Pinstripes​ and a Flapper-style Hat

Pinstripes always make me think of men’s suits. I made my brother a green pinstripe suit in the 1960s especially for performing with his band. It’s a pattern that looks elegant on men and women alike.

A touch of pattern-mixing, I dressed my pinstriped leggings up with an embroidered floral Kimono: a mix of masculine and feminine. I wore it to Maggie’s Clothing Exchange Party which I’ll show next time.

Jewellery and booties are thrifted, The little purse (perfect for my cell phone) is handmade by an artisan in Seattle’s Pike Place.

To top it off I wore my new gray hat that I bought at the Elvis Festival from a street vendor this summer. It has a flapper vibe and reminds me of the Roaring 20s. I’m grateful for the Flappers of the last century because Fashion Saves the Birds.” Consumers have a lot of power, we can make a difference with what we buy.

You can read the story here.

Fashion with compassion!

 

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Cruelty-free, Fashion, Thirfting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Florals and Pinstripes​ and a Flapper-style Hat

  1. Amy Johnson says:

    Such a cute look! I love the pinstripe pants with that kimono!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You look fabulous in pinstripes Carmen, they are nice to share between both men and women when it comes to fashion! What a lovely memory for you in making a pinstripe suit for your brother. The kimono is cute along with the booties and flapper hat. The purse is a great match for the hat. It is nice you got to visit Paris in your lovely outfit!! You would definitely turn heads there! Have a lovely week Dear, Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. utesmile says:

    Oh yes that hat is gorgeous! Love it, Carmen… with the Paris picture in the back 🙂 Have a great Weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 365dniwobiektywielg says:

    WOW

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodie says:

    What a gorgeous outfit Carmen. That hat is fabulous. I keep looking for a different shaped one and that is perfect.
    XOOX
    Jodie

    Liked by 1 person

  6. finbarsgift says:

    Cool hat topping Carmen’s head 🎅
    Herzliche Morgengrüße vom Lu

    Liked by 1 person

  7. inaloveworld says:

    It is beautiful and looks good on you! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️