Backdrops for Photo Shoots

gate

In a restaurant, dreaming of warm summer days on the beach on a cold day in January

Part of the fun of blogging is finding interesting backdrops. I’m always on the lookout and I can’t help seeing a spot and thinking, “That would make a fantastic background!” There are great places to discover without going far.

We learned to take a camera along for when we see something we like. But whether in your own backyard or inside your home or an exotic place, choosing a background adds interest and a personal touch to fashion photos. We all have our unique ways of expressing ourselves.

Sometimes we happen upon the perfect scenery but I’m wearing an outfit I’ve already shown on my blog. Or I’m having a bad hair day. Or we simply don’t have time to stop.

Does that ever happen to you?

In this post artwork makes a fun backdrop

Brooklyn 1

The Ocean in Brooklyn

Brooklyn 2

Yacht in Brooklyn

Harlem 2

Harlem: I can almost hear the music of the jazz band

Harlem

Harlem

NYC subway

NYC Subway

Connecticut

Connecticut

Toronto Mall

Restaurant Mural

Version 3

Shopping Mall in Germany

escalator

Escalator in a Department Store

Here are a few more artistic backdrops …

Jean “painting” graffiti on the Berlin wall.

Berlin

Berlin

Brooklyn

Brooklyn

umbrella

Seattle: love how the painting continues on the sidewalk

Jodie’s Touch of Style with Nancy and Charlotte always look like they’re having so much fun together.

Jodie Nancy Charlotte 2JodieJodie Nancy Charlotte 1

Have you used art for backdrops?

Share a link in the comments to your post with a fun backdrop and I’ll pop by to comment!

pink-heart

More fashionable ladies at Patti’s VISIBLE MONDAY

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Photography, Scenery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Backdrops for Photo Shoots

  1. Yes hahaha I do the same – always looking for an interesting place. Unfortunately I live in a very industrial town and there aren’t a lot of pretty places, so finding something good enough is sometimes a real struggle. Your ideas are fantastic :))))) Kisses – Margot :)))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. busyandfab says:

    Murals are fun backgrounds for OOTDs. I like your collection here of street arts.

    http://www.busyandfab.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patti says:

    Me too, I’m crazy for street art, and you’ve shown some fab examples today! If I’m having a bad hair day I’ll crop myself out, or put on a comic head. You look terrific and thanks for linking up, xo

    Patti
    http://notdeadyetstyle.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Carmen, I love your backdrops! I have to say I have not used murals to be a back drop in pics but it looks so fun! I love the top photo of you with eyes closed and I LOVE that skirt, with the cute top! also the NYC subway is a nice pic and outfit , but you look great in them all . Have a lovely day Dear, hugs, Terri xo.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. josep-maria says:

    How many memories, how many looks commented, how much beauty accumulated in your blog! It is clear that the background helps the photos are more striking, but in your case, no background can distract the look of your beauty, your style and your appeal. In this post it is shown again, with your white, turquoise, yellow looks … with all that wonderful way to combine with simplicity and without stridency. It is evident that art is important and can help a good story, but, as I said before, in your case art is you, there is no more beautiful work of art in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      You certainly know how to make my heart smile! The world is a work of art, from majestic mountains to mesmerizing oceans, with glorious sunsets painted on the horizon and romantic moonlight shining on the river. People are so talented, creating unlimited art with imagination and skill. I try to use these settings for visual interest and yet you have given me such a lovely and kind compliment! I don’t know what to say except a big THANK YOU!!!

      ❤️carmen

      Like

  6. purpleslob says:

    Carmen, when you have a bad hair day, so you take a pic of the backdrop and Photoshop it later?

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      LOL – no, I’ve never photoshopped myself into a backdrop. That’s a good idea for a future post! I usually take a picture of the backdrop/scenery (without me in it) even when I have good hair days because I like scenery and nature shots as well as art and murals. I like photography and it’s fun to capture moments of our lives. I don’t always need to be in the picture. This being primarily a fashion blog, so of course, I’m in most of the posts. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by on this cold winter day to make me smile! 🙂
      ❤️carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Backdrops for Photo Shoots — fashion with compassion – Suman Das Website

  8. utesmile says:

    I love murals and street art, they always make a great backdrop. They all look fantastic.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Jodie says:

    Thanks so much for including us in this fabulous post, Carmen!!
    It’s been amazing to me how I look at wall murals and scenery so different now that we take these blog photos!! And some areas are just full of great ones!!
    XOOX
    Jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

    Liked by 3 people

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️