Getting Over Sticker Shock

Reblogged from Jeanofalltrades

My dad taught me a neat trick and I am so impressed with it I just have to share.

Have you ever bought something with an annoying price tag that you can’t peel off? Maybe you peel off the top layer and the sticky backing stays behind? It happens to me a lot, and I’m left picking at the remnants or looking for nail polish remover to clean up the mess.

The remedy? A hair dryer!

sticker

My parents and I were at the Habitat for Humanity store a few weeks ago and they picked up some neat artwork. The sticker was smack dab on the front of one of the paintings. My dad pointed the dryer at the sticker and slowly peeled it back. It came off clean with not sticky residue left behind.

ART

Carmen’s note: It works on many surfaces: glass, wood, metal, plastic, cardboard and even paper. Sometimes peeling the sticker off a surface can damage the item, depending on what it is (like a book or picture), this trick doesn’t do damage if the material can handle a bit of heat.

Remember to peel gently and slowly, and with caution!

Give it a try and let us know!

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Art, Jeanofalltrades and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Over Sticker Shock

  1. Yvonne says:

    Love your blog you have some really interesting articles. Thank you for commenting on Young in the Sixties hope to see you there soon. Yvonne

    Like

  2. sarahtoma says:

    hey this is awesome! I have not tried it, but will next time! I never understood why stores place stickers in such horrible places! The one that drives me the most crazy is picture frames that have the sticker with the price right in the middle of the glass! It makes me so mad ha ha. I have not bought stuff because of this exact problem!

    Like

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️