Summer Place

We have enjoyed an extended summer during October. However, autumn leaves must fall and it will soon be time to winterize our Summer Place. We also call it the Tree House because it overlooks the forest, three stories high, since our house is built on a hill. It feels like I’m up in the tree top!

Besides having breakfast there every morning, it’s a lovely place to entertain family and friends, whether it’s tea for two or garden parties. There’s a stairway to the lower deck and the garden for more guests.

summer-place

In German we call it the Gartenzimmer (Garden Room) with a lovely view of the garden. Although most of the flowers are gone, the trees are still green with some turning gold. No need to rake the leaves after they dance to the ground because nature takes care of them in the woods.

tea-time

I’m wearing an organic cotton top that I bought at Jean’s eco boutique, Drizzle and Shine. It’s made by Synergy, a fair-trade company in Nepal where the employees earn a living wage. I love buying ethical clothing and supporting small businesses and artisans.

synergy-1

A lovely shade of gray with dolman sleeves and beautiful hand-stitching on the neckline and 3/4 length sleeves.

Version 2

Goes well with so many of my pants, here I’ve paired it with black and gray floral jeans.

synergy-2synergy-3

Our Summer Place has a roof to shade from the sun and keeps the rain off. We can sit there even when it rains and listen to the sound of raindrops on the roof. Little mini lights that look like tiny stars all around the perimeter, create a beautiful ambience in the evening all through the year.

It is a big screened balcony, so no mosquitoes to bother us, no flies to disturb us and no bees to intrude while we’re enjoying our dinner.

I grew up with this song echoing through our house, it evokes the happy moments of my childhood.

synergy

Do you have a special place to relax or read away from the madding crowd?

carmen2

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Autumn, eco fashion, Fair trade, Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Photography, Scenery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Summer Place

  1. Such a beautiful place to be!! I would definitely spend time there. Love your top.

    Mary
    http://www.marymurnane.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Max says:

    Very relaxing place, looks like a great spot to enjoy nature and relax. Must be lovely on a rainy day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Absolutely! The view is always beautiful through every season, but the fragrance of the forest on a rainy day is so fresh and can’t be captured with a camera. 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  3. So glad you love your top. It looks great. I’m glad you have lots of pants to wear it with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks so much Jean! I’m very happy with all my clothes, shoes and accessories from your lovely boutique, only wish I had more room in my suitcase! It rained the other day and I wore my polka dot raincoat. I always get compliments on everything I have worn from your shop!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  4. josep-maria says:

    A beautiful look, very del Carmen style. I love the top, and I love your explanation about making, I like that you use fair trade clothes. Fashion should also participate in the struggle for a more just world. The garment is beautiful, the color, the design, the delicacy that emanates. And these pants, which I say? Clores pants, so and so Carmen style! Pretty wedges in your feet, your smile, your beautiful hair … all as simpre, configure a queen outfit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you very much Josep-Maria! “Del carmen” LOL — I like that!
      I know you also care about the environment and fashion industry workers, I remember your post about the tragedy in Bangladesh — heartbreaking! This should not happen because people are worth more than clothes! Every worker deserves a fair wage and safe working conditions. No animals should be used for fashion. We should all be responsible for our planet — it’s the only one we have. 🙂

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  5. What a beautiful place. My uncle, who lives in England has a very similiar conservatory – every time I pay him a visit I love spending time there. It’s sooo relaxing !!! You look fabulous in these fabulous surroundings. I love your pants and you ecological top goes so well with them. I’m jelous 😀 😉 haha of the weather you have there – unfortunately it’s already cold and wintery here 😦 . Have a lovely day – cheers – Margot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Margot! Unfortunately — but as expected — the days are growing colder and shorter! Last week was warm enough to go out in a T-shirt and sandals, and today I needed a jacket. If I was a bird, I’d fly south!

      Have a fashionable week!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  6. Ileana says:

    Beautiful place, beautiful (and very well known) song, beautiful presentation of your Gartenzimmer!
    I felt relaxed only reading your story filled with sensible poetry.
    I told my daughter-in-law about Jean’s eco boutique and she was very interested, saying that she also will spread the word in her group of girlfriends in Seattle.
    See you at dance class, mine liebe Freundin.
    ❤️ Ileana

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      A heart-felt THANK YOU meine liebe Ileana! I do appreciate you spreading the word so others in Seattle will discover Jean’s shop!

      As for the Gartenzimmer, it was too cool to sit out today. However, here is my special invitation to you to come for tea! Let’s talk about a suitable time on Monday.

      Happy Sunday!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  7. utesmile says:

    My dear Carmen, I loooove that place your Gartenzimmer, I would spend many hours there, what an amazing place to chill out. Sitting in between the trees. Thank you for the lovely video. And as you say I grew up with that music too. We had the record and on a Sunday morning I crept downstairs to make breakfast for all, put the record on for my parents to wake up to music and the smell of coffee. Now I can’t remember was it Mantovani or from the record “Morgens um sieben ist die Welt noch in Ordnung” – we used to have plenty of “old” dance music records, I always loved. Or was it James Last?

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      We share some lovely memories dear Ute! My mom had an extensive collection of LPs: a Summer Place by Percy Faith (who was born in Toronto, the city I grew up in) and many of the Big Band albums by Mantovani, James Last, Ray Conniff, Glenn Miller and Benny Goodman. No wonder I love to dance growing up in this atmosphere!

      What a sweet daughter you are, preparing breakfast and have the sound of music as they awaken to the smell of fresh coffee!

      If music is the spice in life, then dance is the dessert!! 🙂

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

      • utesmile says:

        Our house was always full of music too, and a lot of dance music too like Hugo Strasser, Max Greger as my parents were dancers and i always loved it. I loved dancing with my dad, he had always good hold and was leading you fanatically over the floor. We had great times. I still love the music and have such wonderful memories.
        Love your last sentence, absolutely right, the dessert! Much love Ute

        Liked by 1 person

  8. So pretty! Both the top and the porch!

    Liked by 3 people

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

