The Telephone City

Alexander Graham Bell invented the telephone near Brantford, Ontario, a city not far from where I live. It’s an interesting day trip to visit the Bell Homestead, one of Ontario’s oldest historic home museums, an educational  experience for my grandson.

IMG_0599

Although Mr. Bell invented the telephone in 1874 in Brantford by the Grand River, he was born in Scotland and his family moved to Canada when he was 23 years old.

Telephone City

This is a monumental place when you think of the significance of this invention, one of the most important scientific inventions in history! The first long distance phone call was made from Brantford to Paris (that is Paris, Ontario).

Take a look inside …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I used to spend hours on the phone, now I spend hours blogging.

P1010914 Bell HomesteadA perfect location for a photoshoot …IMG_0615IMG_0613-640 Version 2 DSC05963 DSC05970 non-leather shoes

A lovely afternoon in the countryside, this was a wonderful science, history, geography and biography lesson for my grandson. 🙂

DSC05960

willow treeAre there any interesting historical sites in your area?

carmen

Linkups: Sydney Fashion Hunter Throw Back Thursday Turning Heads Tuesday

 

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Day Trips, Fashion, Nature, Photography, Scenery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Telephone City

  1. Pingback: Fashion With Compassion

  2. Susan says:

    Beautiful beautiful pictures and a very handsome grandson, Carmen! I live near Reading, Pennsylvania, home of the Reading Railroad from the Monopoly game. I wish we had a railroad museum, but alas, we do not!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess says:

    I wish I could visit more historical sites and museums but I cant stand long periods. Looks like you had fun! You look lovely as always, such cute shoes and playful pics!
    Thanks for linking up with TH Tuesday
    jess xx
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rebecca says:

    Hard to believe you already have a grandson Carmen – love how sexy you look in that outfit too!!

    Come check out my latest collab with Los Angeles-based brand TOBI – I am sure you’ll love it! Happy Wednesday!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ToryBri says:

    First off, great outfit for exploring the Bell Homestead. I wonder if the “younger generation” knows that you once had a rotary dial for dialing a number and not a touch screen???

    I still have a rotary dial phone in my basement like that green one in your picture. I guess I’m dating myself 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. josep-maria says:

    How nice to see your grandson, so big and handsome. And how wonderful to see the most beautiful grandmother in the world with him. I love your picture with the phone, you look like one of those Hollywood stars in the vintage photos of the most beautiful film era. The most beautiful actresses, but can not compete with you. I like the look nice today, with tight black pants your wonderful legs, delicate shirt and lingerie top, next to the stunning shoes, super fashion blogger. And I like your hair a bit tousled by the wind in these pictures, showing all its softness and delicacy. A beautiful look, very nice post, a woman who just my words …

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ralph says:

    As usual, a lovely outfit dear Carmen. I see that you had your wires crossed, or were you talking to yourself. LOL. The only historical site in this village is me. Big hug 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dan says:

    Your grandson surely enjoyed the visit! And you surely were the most lovely lady!

    There are many interesting historic places next to where I live.One of them is the Egiptian Museum of Turin which is the second for importance in the world. I visited it many times and always I had the chance to learn something I didn’t know…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bernard25 says:

    Bonjour

    En cette nouvelle journée

    Comme un oiseau de tendresse

    Je viens te chanter mon bonjour

    Comme on chante les belles histoires

    Je te peints mes pensées à l’encre de mes mots

    Comme on peint les jolis tableaux

    Je te dessine le contour de mes plus beaux sentiments

    Comme on dessine l’innocence à travers les yeux d’un enfant

    Je t’ai écris ces quelques lignes nappées de bonheur

    Comme on écrit les plus beaux souvenirs

    Je te souhaite une bonne journée . avec des petits bisous

    AMITIE

    Bernard

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ileana says:

    Very interesting this post! I visited Brantford long time ago, when I had a job interview over there, however wasn’t aware about the Bell memorial house. My husband and I will visit this historic site very soon, it’s on our ‘to do’ list now!
    Kitchener has a museum reminding us of our city’s history – Joseph Schneider Haus. Schneider was one of the Mennonite settlers and regarded the founder of Kitchener.
    Did I tell you that your outfit is beautiful?
    ❤️ Ileana

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Glad you like it and I hope you go soon! They give a very informative tour, a lovely place, both inside and the grounds. I’ll post some more photos of inside this evening. I’ve been to the Joseph Schneider Haus and watched a demonstration of pottery being made.

      As for my outfit, I’ll wear it to class today!
      See you at dance!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  11. utesmile says:

    That looks very interesting and lovely green where it is. I am sure you both enjoyed it. Love that wooden swing. And again you look fabulous with this silver jumper.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. wonderful learning experience!
    We have the Plant Museum, and all kinds of historical houses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      That’s what I like too, places where we can step back into history and get a glimpse of days long past. I’m sure the Plant Museum and historical houses are interesting, would love to go but I’m too far away. Please go there for me and take photos to share on your blog! Thank you! 🙂

      Blessings!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

