Dressing up Denim

Denim dressed up with white

Everyone needs a denim jacket. I love the contrast of rugged and feminine.

denim jacket

I’ve dressed up a denim jacket with a long, white cotton dress.

white dress 1

white dress

Denim dressed up with black

Dressing up denim with black is dramatic and creates a totally different look.

DSC05521

My denim jacket worn over a cami with lace trim and faux suede asymmetrical skirt.

Version 2

I added a black “lace” necklace (it’s actually metal) and a black flower for extra femininity.

DSC05531

backThese faux suede boots are so comfortable even though they have three inch heels. They look and feel like black velvet. I bought them ten years ago and hope to find a replacement someday.

 

 

 

How do you dress up denim?

    ❤ carmen

 

 

Linkups: Visible Monday Throw Back Thursday My Refined Style

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jewelry, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Dressing up Denim

  1. happinessatmidlife says:

    I totally agree with you, I love my denims jackets and wear them all the time.

    Thank you for being a part of TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you soon!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

    Like

  2. Neti* says:

    New visitor to your blog and I love how you dress up a denim jacket. I will be back to read more. . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gemma says:

    I really like how you dressed up the denim jacket especially the black dress version. Have a great start to your week. Gemma x
    http://www.jacquardflower.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pia says:

    Nice dresses! 🙂 I really like denim, it´s comfortable and looks great! 🙂 Thanks for your post and best wishes from biohotels ! Pia

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jess says:

    Carmen, I love both ways with the white and black. The white dress looks dainy and angelic on you, the contrast with the fun denim jacket I love. The black also fabulous as I love the black flower pin and boots. I really love both looks. I need to wear mine jacket more often.
    take care
    jess xo
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dan says:

    A denim piece can make an outfit completely different. I don’t have a denim jacket at the moment but own a shirt which often wear…
    Your jacket goes nicely both with the white cotton dress ( sooooo cute! ) and the black ensemble!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Olga says:

    Nice pairing! I love the contrast between white and denim but denim and black also looks stunning. Always interesting to see your styling Carmen!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. ToryBri says:

    I love both the white and the black on you. And of course the denim adds a fantastic touch. That dressing room you took some of these pictures in is VERY unique. News print on the walls, how fun 😝

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks so much Bri! I’m not much a denim and jeans girl, but when it’s paired with something pretty, I feel feminine. This post was fun to do to show different ways to dress up a denim jacket.

      Enjoy the sunshine; we here are still in a deep-freeze with subzero weather and more snow!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ralph says:

    As I said before dear Carmen, white really suits you 😀
    I have never worn denim. I wonder why ? lol 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you dear Ralph! I love white anytime of year. So you don’t even have blue jeans?

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ralph says:

        You are welcome my friend 😀
        No, I never wanted to wear blue jeans. All the women around here like to wear jeans and boots (when they are not wandering the streets in their PJs). I prefer trousers with creases down the front and back. I’ll never be allowed to visit the USA or Canada now will I ?
        Big hug for you my friend 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • carmen says:

          WOW! Creases down the middle? Sounds like a gentleman, the kind you see in classic movies. Very nice. You will certainly be welcome in North America, you might even be mistaken for a V.I.P. when you get off the plane. 🙂

          Seriously, Ralph, I like to dress in style when I travel (or anytime) but gone are the days when men wore suits and women wore pretty dresses with little white gloves. Sigh! A romantic era–AND, no one was stopped before boarding the plane to be checked for weapons, we even got to visit the pilot in the cockpit.

          A hug ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          • Ralph says:

            I totally agree with you on both accounts Carmen. Women in dresses look so feminine and unique and flying was an adventure in the 1950s. I flew a lot by BOAC in Statocruisers and Britannias from the UK to Nigeria for the school summer holidays and even though I was in school uniform with a brown label tied to the blazer button I was treated as royalty. Given games, jigsaws and as a member of the Junior Jet Club I visited the flight deck every trip. Those were the days. So,yes, I agree my friend ….. sigh ! Hugs back 😀 ❤

            Liked by 1 person

            • carmen says:

              My husband was also a member of the BOAC Junior Jet Club! They made you feel important. Now they make me feel like a criminal and last time I flew, I had to remove a little neck scarf as if they suspected I was a terrorist. Seriously.

              Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely juxtaposition of rough and refined!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ileana says:

    Both combinations are chic and you look elegant and gratious again. Love your black accessories! I have all sorts of jackets but not a Denim. Hmm…it’s time to get one…☺️
    ❤️ Ileana

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you my dear! I found my denim jacket at V.V. Boutique (Value Village) for $7.99 Thrifting is good for the wallet and the environment. At that price anyone can afford a denim jacket. 🙂

      See you at dance!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  12. utesmile says:

    You look fantastic in both black and white with Denim. I have to say I only have one blue jeans that is it, and I gave my Denim Jacket away, I didn’t like it any more. I somehow prefer other jackets and blazers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Vielen Dank meine liebe Ute! I’m not a huge fan of denim and jeans. Only since I started this blog do I have one pair of blue jeans and one pair of gray jeans. Bought at a thrift shop for $7.99, I figured I can donate the jacket back if I don’t get enough wear out of it. Like you, I prefer classier jackets and have a nice collection, mostly from thrift shops.

      Happy weekend!

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Rebecca says:

    This just proves that a denim jacket is so versatile – you rock all the looks Carmen! Have a great Hump Day!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

    Liked by 1 person

  14. josep-maria says:

    My dear Carmen, I am absolutely in love with your white dress. It is a wonderful, subtle, delicate and elegant, perfect garment for you, for your figure and your beauty. I love the delicate fabric, lace trims and delicate ruffles at the bottom. It is simply a dress for Carmen. The black dress is also nice, I like the design of the skirt, asymmetrical cut, and also the delicate lace neckline. But … the white is pure wonder, is a dress made for you. In addition, with white I can admire the delicacy of your arms, your legs beauty and tenderness of your feet. The post talked about the denim jackets, sorry, white dress Blinded Me …

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much my dear Josep-Maria! Your comments are very kind and it makes me happy that you like this look! I appreciate your opinion. 🙂

      Happy weekend!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  15. Maccabros says:

    looking good and amazing as ever

    fine dress

    liebe Grüße

    Maccabros

    Liked by 1 person

  16. zo20 says:

    I love denim! Keep it up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

