Fashion Revolution: Who Made My Clothes?

jeanofalltrades

Today is Fashion Revolution Day. This day marks the second anniversary of the Rana Plaza factory collapse in Bangladesh, which killed over eleven hundred people and injured thousands more.

I’m joining others as we ask, “Who made my clothes?” Check out Instagram hashtags for #fashrev, #whomademyclothes, #fashionrevolutionday, and #whomadeyourclothes for lots of inspiring photos. You might see photos of people wearing their clothes inside out to show the labels–transparency in fashion!

who made my clothes?

I know who made my clothes!

Lois Eastlund label

Lois Eastlund made my dress. It looks fantastic (even inside out) because it’s handmade and she paid a lot of attention to detail. She’s a NY-based fashion designer and one of the founders of La Fashionista Compassionista–an awesome (and free) online magazine that you should get your hands on!

Lois Eastlund dress

Moses made my boots. They’re handmade in a factory in LA. The company, Nicora Johns, is helping to keep the US shoemaking industry…

View original post 245 more words

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fashion Revolution: Who Made My Clothes?

  1. carmen says:

    Devastation like this happen and life goes on, but we need to care, and be part of the changes needed to make the world a safer place for everyone. Let’s vote with our dollars! Thank you Jean for caring and sharing this important message!

    Fashion with compassion: for people, for animals, for our world!

    ❤ carmen

    Like

  2. Shybiker says:

    What a pretty dress! Well paired with those tights and boots. It’s good to be aware of where our clothes and consumer products come from and the conditions under which they’re made.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you! Jean is my daughter and my fashion inspiration, the reason i started this blog. I wish I had bought one of Lois’s dresses, they are all so unique and well-made from my favourite decade – the 60s mod style!

      Thank you for caring! We can make a difference.

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  3. Bob says:

    Thank you Jean, thank you Carmen…….perhaps labels should declare not just the country but the country AND factory of origin…..getting harder and harder to buy Canadian and/or USA made.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dawn Lucy says:

    This is something I don’t think about enough, I know. Thanks for the reminder.
    OXOX
    Dawn Lucy
    http://fashionshouldbefun.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Dawn Lucy! We, who love fashion, can really make a difference! I admit, I have bought many things because they cost less, but they come at a great cost for those who died and those who continue to work in poor working conditions will little pay. Plus, we need to support our own countries, USA and Canada!

      Thank you for caring!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  5. ILEANA says:

    Our world is in need of more and more people caring about others with love and understanding.
    What a compassionate message this post has! It touched me very much.❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much my dear Ileana! I am happy my daughter’s message has touched you! You are indeed a compassionate person and you are so right, we need more people who care.

      What the world needs now is compassion!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

