Style Challenge: Tartan Top Two Ways

Fremont (Seattle) has several unique boutiques. Jean and I saw this pretty plaid shirt in the window. The fabric is soft and drapes nicely. These tops are so unique: a blend of shirt and blouse!

jeanofalltrades

You might be aware that my mom loves it when we dress alike. I happen to not like wearing the same thing as someone else. She started the habit when I was too young to know better. Now, I do it only occasionally–just to indulge her. Personally, I like having my own style and take on things.

Thankfully, during her recent visit we came to a compromise. A style challenge!

two ways to wear a tartan top

Blouses: Bliss Seattle
Pants: Lucky and Hue
Boots: Cri de Coeur and MIA
Necklaces: Thrifted and Fremont Sunday Market

This shirt caught our eyes because it’s such a unique cut. My mom focused on the blue in the top and paired it with dark denim leggings. The flowy top balances the skinny pants nicely.

mom's version

The wrap-style front and shirt-tails added a feminine flair to what might otherwise be a regular plaid shirt. The white running through it…

View original post 98 more words

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Seattle, Shopping, Style Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Style Challenge: Tartan Top Two Ways

  1. Bob says:

    It is a treat to see you and Jean on the same post….I read the rest of the post one her blog (and commented there)….I conclude that “style challenge” is a tie. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jess says:

    I dont own much plaid, and dont know why. I love the way both of you styled it, her with long legs and the flares is a great sillouette, and I love Carmen how you wore your jeans tucked into the boots, and are showing the blouse this way. Pretty!!! Happy Sunday too, finally we have some sun

    stop by soon, jess xx
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Carmen, thanks much for the reblog. Thanks to it I discovored for me your daughter’s wonderful blog with its tender and beautiful author.

    hugs…
    Arlen

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joni James says:

    You both styled it up cute. I haven’t shopped around Fremont in a while but I do love their Sunday Market. So much to look at.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. utesmile says:

    Love the shirt! Great style!

    Liked by 1 person

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

