Style Challenge: Ladies in Blue

This is a top I bought in December at The Hudson Bay Co; I immediately tried it on, bought it and wore it. Cool top for my dance classes and I love the Navajo inspired print with fringes on the hem.

carmen

I went back to buy another one as a gift for Jean as soon as I booked my flight reservation for Seattle. I was so glad they still had one left (her size!).

I like dressing alike but Jean rolls her eyes and can’t understand my obsession with it. We have similar taste (as well as very different tastes at times) so she came up with the idea how to style something different ways. We have done this before with our red dresses we got at the Swap Shop in Florida. LADIES IN RED

Jean styled her top with faded, boot-cut jeans and taupe boots.

Jean

 

 I styled my top with dark denim skinnies and black faux leather knee-high boots.

 carmenSame top but a different look. Jean still won’t go out with me dressed like this, but at least it’s a good way to show different possibilities and getting more millage out of our clothes.

Jean and carmen

Now I need a pair of faded blue jeans. These ones are capris.

DSC00746

Did you ever dress like your mom or daughter, or have any of the same clothes?

carmen

It’s time for VISIBLE MONDAY at Patti’s!

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Seattle, Style Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Style Challenge: Ladies in Blue

  1. dan says:

    Blue is so versatile and you can match it with most colours! I wear it often…
    You are the most lovely and young mother! The top is beautifully styled in both looks…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jess says:

    Such a pretty top Camen, love the blue on you, I could use more blue in my wardrobe. Love it on both of you ladies, and the faded jeans, your boots look fab. I also love the silver jewelry with this blue. Stay warm my friend!
    from the link up,
    please stop by, jess xx

    Home

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you dear Jess! I will post a close-up of the jewellery we bought at the Fremont Flea Market in one of my upcoming posts. I love how you always show close-ups of your beautiful jewellery.

      The boots I’m wearing belong to Jean. It’s so convenient to visit her and be able to wear her shoes and clothes. That’s how I am able to travel with only one little carry-on and stay for two weeks! 😉

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  3. Rebecca says:

    It’s definitely a TIE – both of you ladies rock it in blue & fringes!!!

    Best!
    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joni@artfulcloset says:

    Carmen, I thought I left a response here about meeting up but don’t see it now. I wasn’t able to meet due to my work schedule. I use the Metro and by the time I get home I don’t normally head back out at night. Maybe a weekend next time. Hope you enjoyed your visit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Hi Joni! A weekend will be better for you since you are working, I plan to be back in September and I’ll let you know ahead of time. I’m going home on Friday, it was wonderful to be in your beautiful city!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  5. Bob says:

    You both look charming, enchanting. Come on Jean, humour your mother. People will certainly see you two as sisters.

    Carmen, your dancers appreciate your dancewear.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ha ha! No I would never go out dressed like my Mom but you two do look cute.

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ralph says:

    No ! Should I ? :/ Ralph ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  8. utesmile says:

    Looks fab. I never wore the same as my mum, she is way older and we had certainly different styles. She was brought up during the war and therefore is well different. She does love colours as I do and even now with 89 she wears colours and it suits her !

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks for sharing about your dear “mum” (so British – the term). My mom lived in Stuttgart during the war, those were difficult times. We moved to Canada in 1957 when I was five and she had matching dresses and outfits made for herself and me by a dressmaker. I remember fondly going for fittings together, it was something I enjoyed very much and made me feel special. She had great style. During the years we often bought some of the same clothes, I always thought it was fun. Even now, it makes me smile as I think about it. I miss her very much.

      We only have one mom! They are treasures!! 🙂

      ❤ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Patti says:

    Look how fab you both are in this top! Love the hemline. Thanks for linking up with Visible Monday, xo.

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️