A Green Christmas

With temperatures above freezing, there was no snow for Christmas this year. Time for an impromptu photo-shoot on our way to my son’s house on Christmas Day.

Christmas Day

It wasn’t as warm as it looks, but I was able to take off my coat and scarf for two minutes before continuing to our destination.

Target dress with cardigan

I bought several dresses this summer, knowing I’d be able to wear them in winter with tights and a cardigan. I get more use out of my dresses this way.

Target dress

We had some lovely days in September when I wore this dress and planned to show it styled for warm weather as well as winter.

Target dress2

I can wear a belt high for an empire-style …

empire-style… or on my waist.

with beltI chose turquoise jewellery: I made this necklace, bracelet is from a flea market in Florida., ring from Silpada. The sheer net detail of this dress is so feminine.

DSC00657Industrial art (used for making rope many years ago) adds a touch of history along the path in Doon Village, once a little Scottish town and now part of Kitchener, walking distance from where I live.

Industrial art in Doon VillageEnjoy the holidays no matter what colour they are!

carmen

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Autumn, Christmas, Fashion, Jewelry, Photography, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A Green Christmas

  1. So cool that we both wrote “color ” Christmas posts! I love learning little tidbits of history from you, as well as fashion tips.
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely looks. So different with tights and a cardi. Your dress is great. Reminds me of Missoni.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca says:

    Love your fresh look Carmen – stay as pretty in 2015! Wishing you all the best for the New Year!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jess says:

    YOu look great in this dress, and I love the colors. I do the same thing, I will take pics really quick when it is cold out, and put the coat back on really fast. I hope you enjoyed the holidays and have a healthy and happy New Year.
    from the link up,
    please stop by jess xx
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bob says:

    When we wear an item that once belonged to a loved one, we don’t simply wear the piece but wear ever so many loving memories.

    The green Christmas certainly made for easier traveling to celebrate with friends and families in other communities.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Your’re quite right Bob, I have several belts and clothes that belonged to my dear mom. Tangible things have sentimental memories, after all, we are living in a physical world.

      Happy travels during the Christmas season!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  6. brugesvegan says:

    looking good!
    we didn’t have any snow neither (and I’m glad! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much! Snow does look magical, but I wouldn’t mind if I never see it again; I’ve seen enough in my life to last a lifetime! Last year was unbelievable! Inevitably, it will arrive any day now with temperatures dropping.

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Happy New Year!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  7. utesmile says:

    I do like that dress and the colour very much. It looks great with your turquoise jewellery. Green Christmas is different for a change! (I told my sister about and that I’d love to go shopping with you. – She can understand that!) 🙂 Enjoy the shopping!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ralph says:

    You always have a great pose and wonderful clothes Carmen 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. victoriaenvogue says:

    no snow for us outhere in arizona either lol lovely outfit!!!
    http://victoriaenvogue.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you Victoria! I love Arizona, have been there twice on the drive to California. Once we were in Flagstaff and drove through a freezing blizzard!! I did not know there was snow in Arizona! No wonder, the elevation of Flagstaff is 6900 feet!!

      May your days be sunny and bright!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  10. Shybiker says:

    What a pretty outfit! The dress looks great with a belt and colored tights.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Maccabros says:

    hope you had a fine Christmas – here we have SNOW… 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

