Leopards and Tigers and Bears, OH MY!

I’m a huge fan of animal prints and faux fur. My first leopard print was PJs that my mom bought for me in the 60s. She bought herself a pair too because she would often buy us matching clothes, including PJs. These are her beanie babies that I bought for her.

my mom's beanies

This leopard print coat is thrifted, only $15. It looks brand new, by Frederick’s of Hollywood, made in U.S.A.

leopard

When I found this tiger print coat in another thrift shop (fully lined and also $15.) I grabbed it and ran! (After paying for it, of course!)

tiger house

My white faux fur is my go-to jacket for eight years, by Canadian company Joseph Ribkoff, made in Canada. It has a hood and a two-way zipper with embroidery stitching down the front and tiny rhinestones.

white faux polar bear

hood

With these coats, I can enjoy the beauty of animals without cruelty. It’s important to be sure that faux fur is indeed a synthetic fiber. I can tell the difference, but there are collars and cuffs and scarves made with real animal fur: dogs, cats and rabbits horribly killed.

Perhaps you’ve noticed the cute little bunny in my sidebar.

please click me

please click me

Jean of all trades recently shared a badge with me and I’m happy to display it in my sidebar. She has added me to her cruelty-free list of vegan fashion bloggers. Please take a look at these compassionate fashionistas.

vegan bloggersI promote fashion with compassion and beauty without cruelty.

Because fashion and beauty should not be at the expense of sentient beings!

β™₯ carmen

Joining Visible Monday

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Animals, Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Photography, Scenery, Vegetarian/Vegan Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Leopards and Tigers and Bears, OH MY!

  1. Bob says:

    To somewhat echo j-m…….you are so delicate, elegant, regal , cultured, sweet, perfecto,…..!!!
    Oh, oh did your head just explode? Oh my, I’ll pick up the pieces.
    Seriously, you do your family and friends proud.
    May you always be so upbeat and so uplifting to all people who know you and care about you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for showing how great it is to be stylish and cruelty-free! I love the second coat (tiger?) but all are fantastic. They’re a great homage to the natural beauty that animals display. Real fur isn’t beautiful unless it’s still on a living animal. Oh, thanks for adding the badges for my fur-free post and the vegan fashion bloggers post! I’m happy to include you on my compassionate fashionista list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    You look very nice in these outfits! It’s amazing, but I have also one white coat and one with tiger or whatever print. Both were my husband’s gifts at 2 occasions. It’s nice you’re having such outfits which really fit you and you are one of the fairly rare North american ladies who know how to wear such stuff. I sometimes regret not being anymore in Europe because women love dressing up there even on regular days. I like your blog and how you are promoting good looks for those who are a bit over 50! Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dan says:

    I have always appreciated your words in defense of animal rights. I am not a vegan ( yet ) but I think you are right: fashion shouldn’t involve cruelty!
    You look great with the coats, my favourite is the tiger print one and it was a real bargain!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Carmen, you are fiercely fabulous! Especially loved the white coat, and for 8 years- wow! You are as thrifty as you are fab! Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jess says:

    I love all of them!! And what deals, Fredericks of Hollywood, oh la la! I remember that store in the 80s in my mall! Love the tights with the patterned coat, my fav is the winter white, so pretty on you as well
    from the link up,
    please stop by, jess xx
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. j-m says:

    You were supposed to be really cute with your Animal print pajamas sixties, I would like to see it. LOL. Seriously, I love your commitment synthetic animal print, to respect the lives of animals, but enjoying the beauty of the patterns of their skins. It is a choice of natural life and a choice of lovely fashion. But not everyone can wear these pieces, a natural elegance is necessary to avoid the feeling of false. In addition, the piece should be quality, after the bad imitations are terribly corny.

    You get the perfect balance, you are always beautiful and elegant, you break any aesthetic difficulty. You are beauty and class. The white jacket is one of your classics, and I’ve seen some pictures of you with snow and patterned pants. It is a wonderful piece and illuminates your face even more natural light than yours, already much. I like your stockings fantasy, but with the cold of Canada must be difficult to carry.

    The detail of the objects of your mother is wonderfully tender and beautiful, it is clear that she did a great job with your education, in all aspects. Cultured and sweet, great combination. Beautiful and bold, perfection. Great post, great looks, beautiful outfits. Carmen in all its splendor.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much my dear JM! You are always very encouraging and I appreciate you for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you like my stockings, but you’re quite right, it is a little cold to wear them in winter except from the house to the car LOL. I have a new post coming up for New Year’s Eve, specially for you – LBD. I remember the wonderful post on your blog featuring all the ladies in black. I hope you will like it.

      We have much in common: our mothers, our birthdays, compassion and fashion! πŸ™‚

      Hope you have enjoyed your holidays! Thank you again for supporting me this year in my blogging adventure.

      Besos!

      ❀ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  8. utesmile says:

    Beautiful you and I totally agree with you, why should animals suffer for our taste.
    Keep warm! Love Ute x

    Liked by 1 person

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

