The long drive home

I’m not fond of long distance driving, but stopping along the route for picnics and photo shoots makes it enjoyable. I love the scenery and enjoy my hobby of capturing the moments.

On our way to Connecticut we stopped for gas and a bite to eat, I met a lovely lady who was very knowledgeable about sunglasses.Β  I gave her my card and hope she writes! πŸ™‚ This was my traveling outfit.

DSC00608

I saw this quaint little A-frame cottage on the way there and simply had to stop on our way home to take a photo. I could live here, I don’t need a mansion to be happy and actually prefer a cozy, clean and well-decorated home–by a river!

A-frame cottage

A view I would enjoy looking out my kitchen window. We followed this river along the highway for miles and miles.

river

Covered bridges always fascinate me, I love walking through them: it gives me a nostalgic and romantic feeling. Reminds me of Bridges of Madison County with Meryl Streep and Clint Eastwood.

covered bridgeblack and white roses topcovered bridge side view

My traveling outfit on the way home: new black and white top I bought at PacSun and black slacks from a dollar store in Torrington.

black and white roses top

I have taken photos of old church buildings and this one was worth a little detour, from ca. 1830s.

old church building

Derelict old buildings make interesting photos, but in real life they give me the willies.

derelict building

About 11 hours on the road with stops and crossing the border …

There’s no place like home!

β™₯ carmen

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Memories, Photography, Scenery, Summer, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The long drive home

  1. Interesting A-frame designed cottage. I wonder how the interior looks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jess says:

    I think you could make friends where ever you go. My hubby says I do that all the time, just start talking to strangers, that people start talking to me. I think I got this gift from my moms side for sure. You look lovely, really pretty in te floral top and black pants. I so agree with you, don’t need a mansion, my hubby and I are considering later in life the possibility of a log cabin .

    Have a great week,
    Jess xo
    http://www.elegantlydressedandstylish.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bob says:

    It is great to travel with a son doing the driving…..we certainly relish David driving us places.
    Rivers, covered bridges, old churches and you in the photos…..all impart a sense of serenity and tranquility. I relax when I read your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you Bob! I’m glad my blog has a calming effect on you and you can relax. I enjoy posting scenic photos too and interesting backdrops so my hobby can reflect the beautiful world we live in.

      Pura vida! πŸ™‚

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  4. Ralph says:

    Hi Carmen πŸ˜€ A lovely post with gorgeous scenery. That pair of lemon sunglasses behind you would go well with your outfit in the first picture. xox ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      WOW Ralph, you have a keen eye, I didn’t notice them. If I had I might have bought them. You’re right they’d go great with my outfit but then I might see the world through lemon eyes and does that mean everything would look sour?

      Thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  5. utesmile says:

    I do love that beautiful white church and the little home, I easily could live in that! You have lovely countryside to drive through. It is lovely to stop at places like you do and enjoy the scenery!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Maccabros says:

    I like to drive, even long distance and love to see all the wonders of nature along the way or, like you – the buildings and places and be sure – the stops with coffee and cakes πŸ™‚

    and once again – nice outfits, wonderful fotos and dressed well as ever…

    Liebe GRüße,

    Maccabros

    Liked by 2 people

    • carmen says:

      Vielen Dank Maccabros! The wonders of nature are everywhere, from delicate flowers to grandiose mountains and everything has it’s own beauty. What a wonderful world!

      Kaffee und Kuchen ist sehr lecker! πŸ™‚

      Liebe Grüße,

      ❀ carmen

      Like

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

