The Bee’s Knees

Bees have a great sense of colour coordination. I love how they pair black and yellow. It’s a hot colour combo this spring and I’m lovin’ it!! So sunny and cheerful. Black and yellow is the bee’s knees. (A phrase that long ago used to mean something very tiny, but in the 20th century took on a whole new meaning of being something outstanding and fantastic. “That outfit is the bee’s knees.)

black and yellow

I did some modeling for Sears this winter, but unfortunately, I didn’t get to wear these yellow skinny jeans, so in February I bought my first spring outfit (I was anxious to get started).

Sears

Sears

I had to take these photos inside because it’s not warm enough yet to go sleeveless and wear sandals, but I’m rehearsing for spring weather.

The Queen Bee?

Sears spring outfit

When life hands you a lemon …

lemon

Actually, my son handed me this lemon which he brought back from Trinidad. WOW!! Have you ever seen one this BIG?

lemon from Trinidad

Now all I need is warm weather.

LemonAidMartini1212CANVAS-c

 

What colours are you wearing this spring?

 

β™₯ carmen

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Bee’s Knees

  1. Bob says:

    I stopped by to enjoy your blog once again.

    Like

  2. nofearoffashion says:

    Beautiful!! Just gorgeous. What a smart move to buy this outfit. You being a model does not surprise me. What I always notice when I see your pictures is your posture. Did you used to do a lot of ballet? You have such a good posture. Really straight back. I envy you for that. Makes or breaks an outfit.
    Greetje
    PS I have lemon skinnies. Had not thought of combining them with black yet. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  3. dan says:

    I have been wearing more yellow than usual recently, and yes, I find it is a sunny, bright colour!
    You were a perfect model indeed!
    P.s.
    Never, never seen such a big lemon in my life!!

    Like

  4. utesmile says:

    I love that outfit, and the yellow jeans, probably my next colour as I have white skinny ones for summer already! You look great!

    Like

  5. Too cute! Wow on the lemon!! It’s getting warmer down here in Pennsylvania, so I can break out the sandals!!

    Like

  6. Black and yellow is such a great summer combination – looks great!

    Like

  7. That is a HUGE lemon! Wow! I love your yellow and black look. Borrowing color combinations from nature is a great idea. Flowers, birds, insects, fish…so many neat ideas! I’m glad spring is finally on the way.

    Like

  8. suzannecarillo says:

    Okay…how is it possible that he was able to bring back a lemon from Trinidad? Any time we try to bring back anything remotely like food it gets taken at the airport.

    And… WHAT??? on the size of that lemon! Wow! It is from giant-land. I’d love to see the size of martini that a twist off of that lemon goes into! : ) That’d be my perfect sized martini.

    How cool that you modelled for Sears! It’s not surprising though…you are such a knock-out!

    The yellow is wonderful on you. I love that you are practising for warmer weather ; )

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you Suzanne! I just may get to wear my yellow skinnies tomorrow with a black jacket. Snow has melted, spring is here – YAY!!

      My son knows how to smuggle lemons and coconuts. Shhhh don’t breathe a word. Giant lemons for giant martinis – lol

      Have a sunny weekend!

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  9. LFFL says:

    Loving the yellow on you! It’s SPRING!

    Like

  10. josepmbadia says:

    I love this look. The pants are beautiful and the shirt is cute. The combination of black and yellow is really nice. Bees, like nature in general, get the most beautiful colors and shapes. Humans try to copy it, but did not get such perfect results. Carmen, you should show you this set on the catwalk, you is perfect, wonderful. You look absolutely lovely with it. Hope your well-functioning heating, temperatures are not yet in Canada to bring these clothes. The lemon gave you your son is spectacular, it is a demonstration of the exuberance of nature.

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you my dear Josep-Maria! Yes, I really wanted to wear it on the catwalk but they don’t give us a choice, they choose the clothes and decide who will wear them in the fashion show. Oh well, now I have this cute outfit to wear anytime I want to! πŸ™‚

      ❀ carmen

      Liked by 1 person

  11. That’s a lemon??? Anywho, you look fab in yellow Carmen!!

    Like

  12. Violet says:

    You are absolutely “bee’s knees” in black and yellow, Carmen!! πŸ™‚ I agree that you are the Queen Bee!!! I cannot believe that’s a lemon! I learned 2 things from you today, the phrase “bee’s knees” and that lemons can be that BIG!! Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚ P.S. I will be wearing every colour of the rainbow in the hopes of making Spring really come! ^^

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Awww thanks so much sweet Violet!! Wear black and yellow and you’ll be a queen bee too! πŸ™‚ I love all the colours too, makes life brilliant!

      Glad to know my blog is educational πŸ˜‰ I think I learned the phrase watching “I LOVE LUCY” It’s interesting to hear what phrases were popular years ago and when they became popular.

      Snow is melting, warmer days are on the way!

      ❀ carmen

      Like

  13. Wow! Is that seriously a lemon Carmen?? Lol, that is awesome. Tell us how it tastes … I wonder if they are much better tasting than what we get here, the way olive oil is so much better in the middle east! And may I be the first to comment that you definitely are the Queen Bee – you rock that yellow. Now I want yellow skinny jeans too! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you my dear Julie!! You can be a queen bee too in yellow and black! Come to Ontario this summer and we’ll go shopping!

      The lemon tasted much better than the ones we buy here, a bit like a grapefruit.

      Blessings!!

      ❀ carmen

      Like

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

