California Dreaming …

Joni Mitchell

Joni Mitchell

I’ve been to California five times in my life, the first time was in 1968 with my mother, brother and boyfriend. Those were groovy days, flower power and hippie-style: from my long straight hair with a part down the middle influenced by Joni Mitchell, down to my far out, floral bell-bottoms inspired by Cher. I was a very fashionable hippie; no dirty, torn blue jeans for this flower child.

California was a hot spot in the 60s, even the Beverly Hillbillies moved to L.A.

My friend Celeste has inspired me to start dreaming again.

california dreaming

jean-at-2In 1974 my husband and I drove across the map to California with friends and our little three-year-old daughter, Jean. Escaping the winter for even a couple of weeks to have fun on the beach and enjoy Disneyland was worth the long drive out west.

We visited Calvary Chapel in Costa Mesa, it was ringing with praise songs which had a great influence on contemporary Christian music. We were new Christians and this was a blessed time!!

Traveling always imprints lasting memories for me, even without photographs, the pictures are vivid in my mind.

On our vacation in 2006, we met up with Jean for her romantic wedding on Long Beach with her charming husband. We toured the coast of California along the Pacific Coast Highway down to San Diego, my first time that far south in California. We stayed at a hotel in Huntington Beach with a view of the Pacific Ocean. I can’t believe people actually get to live there!

wedding day

When I received a scholarship to a dance camp in Stockton (near San Francisco) I jumped at the opportunity. As a dance instructor, I got to teach a dance at the camp and met some lovely people from all over the world!

Why not take a detour on the way to Seattle to visit Jean, and meet up with my cousin Marion in San Francisco? She suggested we take a tour on a Hop-on Hop-off open top double-decker bus to enjoy the sights. Fabulous idea and we stopped to get off wherever we wanted to.

I left my β™₯ in San Francisco!

I’m making a list of friends and family in California, so I hope to see you all next time I’m coming your way!

The only thing better than visiting California is living there!

To all you Californians – enjoy it!!

β™₯ carmen

Visible Monday

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in California, Fashion, Memories, Scenery, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to California Dreaming …

  1. nofearoffashion says:

    What a fun post. Much love and friendship in this post. And I love Jean’s wedding picture!! Beautiful.
    Greetje

    Like

  2. I’m so glad I inspired this post Carmen! So many lovely photos!! It’s great that you’ve been able to visit California five times and I have no doubt that you’ll get here again. I was born and raised in California, so I sort of take the beaches and lovely weather for granted.

    Not as much as I used to, however. My first husband was in the military and when he got out he wanted to move back to Iowa. I agreed to go, but only because he promised to move back to California if I wasn’t happy in Iowa. Let me tell you, that first winter in Iowa was an experience! After a year in Iowa I told my husband I wanted to move back to California, but he refused. I stayed there for 3 more years until our marriage fell apart (only a small portion of that was because we wanted to live in different places). When I returned to California I swore I’d never complain about California weather again. Anyway, it is wonderful to live in California and I know that I’m lucky to be here.

    I look forward to seeing you when you get to California again! Celeste πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. What a soothing post, I love CA. I spent some time there at an art school in Oakland. You look great in the patchwork pants, perfect for San Francisco. Your flowing green dress is lovely too. Fun to see pictures of the city again and the weather is so lovely. I with you, this winter is never ending!

    blue hue wonderland

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you so much Ann!! What a wonderful opportunity you had to study art in Oakland! Glad you enjoyed the photos!

      We are both tired of winter and looking forward to warm weather again! Tomorrow is the first day of spring, doesn’t look or feel like it here!! 😦

      Happy spring!!
      β™₯ carmen

      Like

  4. Violet says:

    Hi Carmen! Such lovely photos and loved reading about your travelling experiences. Now you’ve inspired me to visit California for my next vacation! πŸ™‚ xo

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Glad you enjoyed my photos and traveling stories Violet! You’ll love California, so much to see and do! Definitely one of the places in the world worth going to.

      Be sure to check with Celeste which restaurants to go to. There’s a great raw vegan restaurant in Costa Mesa, highly recommended by Celeste!

      Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!
      β™₯ carmen

      Like

      • Violet says:

        Thanks for advice on asking Celeste which restaurants to go to! πŸ™‚ I’ll keep that restaurant in mind when I do go one day. Thanks a lot Carmen!! πŸ˜€

        Like

  5. jangrahammcmillen says:

    Ooops. Rude me … I was so overwhelmed I forgot to stay present and tell you how great you look as a latter day but tres chic hippy chick! So cute, those pants. Very 1968!

    Like

  6. jangrahammcmillen says:

    I grow so homesick for California, Carmen! I was born and raised there, and graduated from high school in 1968 … it’s so much of who I still am. And I get homesick for Seattle when I see Jean’s posts. My husband and I met there, and I was there for a decade. It’s bitter sweet, with emphasis on the sweet, so thank you for the SF tour. Such great memories … I hope to go back at least once more!

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you my dear Jan! WOW!! Growing up in California, sounds like your life would make a great Hollywood movie! You need bitter and sweet to make a good movie and more sweet than bitter (I like that!) to make it a movie I would enjoy!! I love happy endings and by the look on your beautiful, smiling face, you lived happily ever after!!

      How long did you live in Seattle? I’m homesick for California and I’ve never even lived there!! πŸ˜‰

      Spring is s’possed to arrive this week, but there is no sign except for a few robins and grackles, but they look totally confused!!

      Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!
      β™₯ carmen

      Like

  7. Rachel G says:

    I have never been to California in my life, although my husband grew up there! You certainly have some great memories of the state!

    Like

  8. What a great trip! And you look happy and gorgeous. Thanks for sharing with Visible Monday.

    Like

  9. Carmen – what a lovely jaunt through California via these colourful photos and costumes. Love it.

    Like

  10. Maggie Li says:

    California…… I can feel the sunshine , that’s one place I would love to visit one day ! Must be quite a experience for you in the dance camp , it’s a lovely dress you had on . Lovely wedding picture of Jean .

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you my dear Maggie! I hope you get to go there someday. You have had many marvelous traveling adventures! I hope we can go on a trip together somewhere someday!!

      β™₯ carmen

      Like

  11. josepmbadia says:

    How I envy, Carmen, to visit, so many times, California. I imagine California as a wonderful place, with landscapes and cities, charming. You had a scholarship to San Francisco? Your turquoise dress dancing is beautiful, I love it. I would visit San Francisco one day, it’s one of my dreams. The photo with the legs over the head is very funny. A nice post that, as I said earlier, it gives me a little envious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • josepmbadia says:

      Moreover, in the large picture, take your precious trousers, to travel.

      Like

      • carmen says:

        Thank you Josep-Maria! Ha ha … you noticed my traveling trousers! I’m glad you liked the photos of San Francisco. You need not be envious, my dear friend, Catalonia by the Mediterranean is like California! You are fortunate to live in such a warm place!! I have seen beautiful photos of Catalonia.

        β™₯ carmen

        Liked by 1 person

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

