An Apple a Day

So the old adage goes …

I love applesIt’s apple harvest time in Ontario, when we take our annual trip to the nearby village of St. George to go apple picking. This was the first time for my two grandchildren and they loved it! They enjoyed picking apples right off the trees and taking a bite! What a fun autumnal outing; a tradition that will be treasured memories of their childhood!

carmen 1I wore a blouse I bought in Germany in 1982. (I wear it with my Drindl–yes, I have one!) I bought the belt this year in La Creme. I’ve had my lace skirt for a few years and love this shade of brown, a shimmery copper.

carmen 2

carmen 3One of the reasons that I have so many clothes is that I keep everything. My clothes are like friends and they bring back many happy memories of where I bought them and when I’ve worn them.

blouse 1blouse lace yokeThere’s a wonderful variety of apples to choose from, including: Jonagold, Golden Delicious, Red Delicious, McIntosh and Gala!

Apples are so delicious and nutritious. I have one every day! They contain vitamin C (as well as other vitamins), minerals (including calcium) and they boost the immune system.

reasonHave you had an apple today?

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Autumn, Country Life, Fashion, Healthy living, Nature, Photography, Scenery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An Apple a Day

  1. Love that comic! So true. And I do love apples. They’re delicious and healthy.

    I love how one day you’re wearing a blouse form the 80s and the next day you have on a hat from the 60s. You’re making my rethink my habit of purging my closet. Quality, classic pieces are timeless and are a good investment. They should have a place in everyone’s wardrobe.

    Like

  2. dan says:

    I have eaten no apples today. ( but I will soon have one! )
    I like your skirt and the belt goes well with it. Have a nice dayin the country! ( so nice to eat a fruit just picked from the tree! )

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you Dan! There’s something refreshing about spending time in an apple orchard in the country. Fresh air, surrounded by trees, the sky above and the earth beneath my feet. Watching the delight on the faces of my grandchildren was the best part as they enjoyed their first trip picking apples.

      β™₯ carmen

      Like

  3. Maggie Li says:

    I really like your lace detail white shirt, also like your heart shape apples. A outing with grandchildren is the most pleasurable thing to do. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. josepmbadia says:

    Carmen, que precioso look. La falda de encaje es una monada, y la blusa es preciosa. Te ves preciosamente romΓ‘ntica, y bucΓ³lica, me encanta. Me gusta mucho la parte superior de la blusa, es realmente bonita, suave y delicada. La flor en la cintura es un detalle hermoso. Me gustan las manzanas, cada dia me como una, al menos.

    Like

    • josepmbadia says:

      Carmen, you look gorgeous. The lace skirt is cute and blouse is lovely. You look precious romantic and bucolic, love it. I really like the top of the blouse is really nice, soft and delicate. The flower at the waist is a beautiful detail. I like apples, every day I like one, at least.

      Like

  5. Suzanne says:

    I’ve wanted to get out and do that one year. It seems like fun.

    You look quite lovely here doing it : )

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Like

  6. Picking apples sounds such a lovely thing to do especially with ones grandchildren… and I love your skirt too. Sara

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thank you Sara! I like finding nature activities, doing things together is better than buying toys. The toys will be gone, but happy memories remain a lifetime!

      β™₯ carmen

      Like

β™₯ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! β™₯

