Nanette Jozwiak – winner of the Most Fabulous Women Over 40 Model Search

Ema Suvajac Photography

Ema Suvajac Photography

This is the Bio that Nanette wrote for the Most Fabulous Women Over 40 contest:

 

I have been fortunate in life, with the love and support of my family, to be able to follow my dreams.

I grew up in Galt and graduated with honours from the Galt Collegiate Institute and Vocational school. I attended the University of Western Ontario where I was selected to the Canadian Rowing team and competed internationally. I graduated with a Master’s degree in Kinesiology.

Ema Suvajac Photography

Ema Suvajac Photography

 

 

At the same time, I pursued my passion for flying. My first job was instructing flying at the Waterloo Wellington Flying Club. I then moved to Northern Ontario to fly in the bush, flying medivacs, Purolator bank runs and fire patrol.

After that I “landed” my dream job as a pilot with Air Canada. Out of 2000 pilots then, only 9 were women. This gave me the great opportunity to volunteer and speak at school career days promoting women in Aviation. Now that I am retired, I really look forward to continuing my volunteer work.

I am an avid golfer, gardener and crafter.

Sadly, I lost my Mother suddenly this past year; and my Father is now in Long Term Care with Alzheimer’s. Through this I am very fortunate to have had the support of my husband and my very good friends. It has been through their encouragement that I have entered this contest.

~Nanette Jozwiak

Winner-Nanette

Congratulations to an elegant, intelligent and remarkable woman!

carmen2

About carmen

Beauty is only skin deep, but health goes deep to the bones. Money can buy designer clothes, but it can’t buy health. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Fashion, Fashion Show and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nanette Jozwiak – winner of the Most Fabulous Women Over 40 Model Search

  1. Louis Bruser says:

    Nanette taught me to fly many years ago in Sudbury . She was skilled, charming and very attractive. Seems nothing has changed. Still flying the skies of Austria, thanks for the gift, I am very grateful.
    Louis Bruser

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thanks for you comment, Louis! Nanette is truly a remarkable women!! It was indeed a pleasure to meet her and share this amazing event with her!! Are you a professional pilot or private?

      May your skies be blue and keep the clouds below you!! 🙂

      ❤ carmen

      Like

      • Louis Bruser says:

        Hello Carmen !
        Thanks for your response. I am a private pilot and every flight is still an adventure. It would be great if you could pass on my best wishes to Nanette. She taught me how to fly correctly and after many instructors she was truly the best. I have also just lost my Mom and I understand what she is going through at the moment. Perhaps my note from across the pond would also cheer her up!
        Take care!
        Louis

        Like

  2. Elizabeth Msolla says:

    I am more than inspired, flying has been my dream since childhood..it is my lifetime wish to fullfil it one day..I believe so!..Congratulations super woman!

    Like

  3. Ileana Trofin says:

    Nanette and Carmen – two admirable role models for ladies under and over 50. Congratulations to both of you!
    Ileana

    Like

  4. Congratulations! What a great story! A pioneer in Canadian women in aviation (with exciting adventures to boot!) combined with such poise and grace. Obviously I was rooting for you, mom, but it’s not bad to “lose” (there are no losers in such a wonderful pageant) to Nanette.

    Like

    • carmen says:

      Thanks for your comment, Jean! Yes, we really were all winners, and had the same fun and opportunities to model on a runway. Thanks for rooting for me (since you’re my daughter I’m glad you did 🙂 ).

      I’m not really one to compete because everyone will have their own favourite. My dream came true by being in a modelling show and that makes me happy.

      I’m happy for Nanette and wish her all the best that this opportunity gives her this year and in the future! ❤

      Like

  5. josepmbadia says:

    An interesting woman, but I certainly would have voted for you.

    Like

♥ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ♥

