Strolling through the park one day …

I spent the first two weeks of August in NYC and enjoyed Central Park and several other parks; pure pleasure!! There’s something that refreshes the soul just strolling through a park. Time to breathe.

Central Park

There’s always a bench along the way for relaxing.

Central Park bench

Meandering through Central Park in Manhattan, you’d never know you were in NYC. This park is enormous and reminds me of Northern Ontario, with rocky hills, ponds with turtles, so it’s easy to forget that it’s surrounded by one of the largest cities in the world.

Central Park NYC on the rocks

Of course, Northern Ontario doesn’t have a castle. The historic Belvedere Castle is a grand sight and a great lookout point in Central Park, built in 1869.

Belvedere Castle

Belvedere Castle NYCRomeo and Juliet in Central Park.

Romeo and JulietMorningside Park, situated on the rocky hills between Harlem and Morningside Heights, was once extremely dangerous. No signs of that now, but apparently, in 1935 the New York Times reported that there was a sign posted in the Teachers College of Columbia University informing students “it is not safe to enter Morningside Park at any time of the day or night.” The natural geography of a rocky cliff, a myriad of trees and a pond is home to turtles and Canada geese (they don’t read signs). It was fun to watch these two “turtledoves” doing their mating dance. 😉

turtle pond

Steps help the explorers go up and down the steep terrain.

steps in Morningside ParkDSC00436 DSC00431 DSC00433

It started to sprinkle, we were prepared with our fashionable umbrellas.

raining

Jean’s is black and white houndstooth and I have my new one I bought at Marimekko in NYC.

umbrellas

We enjoyed a vegan picnic in Madison Park in the heart of downtown Manhattan. You never know what you’ll see in the park in NYC. (That’s not me folks!)

sunbather in Madison Park

The High Line is an elevated linear park, an abandoned railroad by the Hudson River; a slice of nature between the concrete and river.

view of the Hudson River from the High Line

A walk in the park does a body good.

iloveny

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Fashion, New York City, Travel, Vegetarian/Vegan Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Strolling through the park one day …

  1. Bob says:

    I always enjoy sharing your life through your blog with all your pictures and essays….you have terrific talents and gifts ….thanks for sharing.

    Hmmm…your title “Strolling through the park one day” …..three outfits…..one outfit on and two outfits in the carry bag….I’m impressed.

    Not you getting all that sun exposure….I knew that….they were not your shoes in the picture…lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The High Line location is one of the best attractions in New York. I hope you had an amazing time there

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebecca says:

    Definitely one of my fave places in NYC….a walk in Central Park is so breathtaking and therapeutic! You are looking so beautiful while doing it – love the white ensemble & the yellow inspired one too! Hope you could check out my latest swimsuit-inspired post – your thoughts always mean so much to me!!

    Rebecca
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you dear Rebecca, your friendship means a lot to me! It’s funny how people we have never met can brighten your day! Thank you for brightening my day!

      Have a sunny Californian weekend (our weather is still wonderful, but winds will be changing *sigh*).

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  4. suzannecarillo says:

    I love the yellow outfit. So sunny : ) I bet you were the brightest gal in NYC.

    I could have sworn that was you… ; )

    bisous
    Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Danny says:

    Great photos Carmen and you look beautiful. Did you see Shakespeare in the Park?

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thank you very much Danny! No, we didn’t get to see Shakespeare in the Park, but we saw a fantastic Shakespeare play off Broadway. The Comedy of Errors, one of Shakespeare’s earliest plays: so witty, amazing actors, a great play! I did see the statue of Romeo and Juliet in the park. 😉

      I ❤ NY

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  6. Jess says:

    I love that pic where you said it wasnt you! haha, made me laugh, some people just dont mind huh? Great photos, love all your outfits, especially the yellow pants with the sunflowers, you look wonderful in yellow. My brother lives in Jersey City and works in NYC, I need to visit. Some really neat pictures and areas you showed, I love the history of buildings as well. I also love the black and white and your fashionable sunnies! Looks like a great day! I did put up another day of Charleston when you get a chance if you want to stop by
    , jess xo

    Home

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      Thanks so much dear Jess! Hey, if people are gonna lie around half naked in public, they take the chance of being photographed! How fortunate to have a brother you can visit, hope you get to go soon! I love history too!

      Happy September!

      ❤ carmen

      Like

  7. utesmile says:

    I do love that flower t-shirt with the yellow trousers, super. Well you always look good but that is my favourite this time! Love all your pictures !

    Liked by 1 person

    • carmen says:

      I knew you’d love that one Ute, you’re my flower girl! I bought it at the MET museum; it’s a Monet painting (not his original, only a print 😉 ). Not sure if there are any T-shirts that he painted himself, but it’s a lovely copy. You’ll be seeing it again in a post I’ll be doing about the Metropolitan Art Museum.

      I ❤ NY

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Dawn Lucy says:

    I love a walk in the park! Great outfits! You look fab in all of them!
    OXOX
    Dawn Lucy

    http://fashionshouldbefun.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️