My Role Model

When I think of my mom, I think of pink roses.

I think of white lace and black velvet. I remember sitting at her dressing table and trying on her pretty necklaces. I remember playing dress-ups with her beautiful skirts and elegant stilettos.

What I remember most is the sweet fragrance of her loving hugs and hearing her say I love you. She always encouraged me and gave me sound advice. My mom would quote Bible scriptures, proverbs and wise sayings that always gave me hope and comfort.

I remember bedtime stories she would tell instead of reading and then she sang a German lullaby with her soft, tender voice as she tucked me in and kissed me goodnight.

A photo of my mom (left) with her sister taken in the 50s

A photo of my mom (left) with her sister taken in the 50s

My daughter Jean wrote a beautiful post today, featuring a leopard print DVF wrap dress.

I chose pink roses for the background of my Gravatar in memory of my mom.

gravatar

Twelve years ago today, my dear mother passed away.

My hope is the in the Lord, and the promises in His Word.

Until we meet again, happy memories remain.

❤ carmen

About carmen

Let’s make the world a better place with compassion. https://fashionableover50.wordpress.com/ https://www.instagram.com/4thejoyofit/?hl=pl
This entry was posted in Fashion, Jeanofalltrades, Memories, Nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Role Model

  1. Bob says:

    I understand you and Jean missing Mom and Oma….and you both (and others who loved her in life)shall miss her until reunited in heaven…..we all miss many loved ones who have passed away ….we can only comfort one another and rejoice that those loved ones . enriched our lives while they were with us in this life.

    Like

  2. dan says:

    Your post reveals all your love for your dear mom.
    I like very much the first photos . Very beutiful women and so stylish!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Leopard Wrap Dress | jeanofalltrades

  4. So hard to believe it’s been 12 years. I still miss Oma. She had a big influence on us. I also enjoyed trying on her beautiful jewelry and high, high heels when I was a kid. She definitely shaped my sense of style. I think she would have loved our blogs 🙂

    Like

  5. Dear Carmen, I’m really excited to read your beautiful words about your mother. Ever I mentioned, she was a very elegant, now I think it was a wonderful person. I wish you to spend this day with peace of mind and the memory of your mother, you feel happy. Two great women, your mother, and you …

    Like

❤️ I'd love to hear from you! Thank you for your comments! ❤️